Community discussions

 
eduardosilva
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 11:33 pm

WDS Problem

Tue Dec 13, 2011 11:52 pm

Greetings,

I'm trying to setup a WDS between my rb751-2hnd and a tp-link 1043nd.

The rb is connected to the internet and working as access point with wds. the tp-link is the wds client.

The problem is:
When I connect to my routerboard, I can ping tp-link ip, but after a few seconds, it goes unreachable then starts answering pings and then goes unreachable again.
Ping results: http://pastebin.com/Fj3s3ndV

What I noticed is that this problem happens in regular time (8 seconds pinging and 11 seconds failing).

If I connect to wireless on tp-link, I don't receive the dhcp from the routerboard, and if I setup static IP, I can't ping the rb ip, but I'm able to ping the tp-link and also open its web interface. From the web interface of tp-link, I'm able to ping my routerboard.

Any ideas?
thanks
 
User avatar
dasiu
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 232
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2009 11:41 am
Location: Reading, UK
Contact:

Re: WDS Problem

Wed Dec 14, 2011 12:49 am

 
eduardosilva
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 11:33 pm

Re: WDS Problem

Wed Dec 14, 2011 1:47 pm

Hello Dasiu

Thanks for the input, I enabled the logs as you said, but couldn't find any extra message on logs (at least now the routers aren't failing pings between them). I can only see the connection message from tplink.

I still can't receive dhcp or connect from the clients behind tplink (if I set a manual IP for client pc, I can only ping and be pinged from tplink, but from my mikrotik I can ping tplink

I notice an odd thing... If I go to Wireless Tables / Registration, I can see the tplink but on the items AP and WDS it does say "no" for both. Wasn't it supposed to be yes?

Thank you!
 
User avatar
dasiu
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 232
Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2009 11:41 am
Location: Reading, UK
Contact:

Re: WDS Problem

Wed Dec 14, 2011 2:26 pm

Maybe there is a problem with TP-Link configuration of WDS...
 
eduardosilva
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 11:33 pm

Re: WDS Problem

Wed Dec 14, 2011 6:57 pm

Hi dasiu I got this same tplink working with wds with other routers using the same configuration on it (even using openwrt). There's not many options in wds setup of tplink.
Maybe I'm doing something wrong on my mikrotik configuration, I already tried a lot of options, but couldn't figure out what was the problem.

Thank you.
 
eduardosilva
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2011 11:33 pm

Re: WDS Problem

Fri Dec 16, 2011 11:29 pm

Hello,

I've been testing for the last few days, and the ping from the routers mikrotik <-> tplink seens to be stable (not getting those timeouts anymore).

But my main problem keeps happening...

The connection between both equipments is working, (mikrotik connected to WAN and also WDS master - tplink 1043nd as a WDS client), but any computer that connects to tplink router (wired or wireless) cannot reach the mikrotik also does not receive dhcp from the mikrotik (even if I set a manual IP for the notebook).

I already tried all the options that I could imagine on tplink, and all the options that I could think about in mikrotik (maybe I'm doing something wrong here, but I can't figure out what is it).

Any help would be appreciated.
Thank you.
 
User avatar
spippan
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 100
Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 1:00 pm

Re: WDS Problem

Thu Nov 13, 2014 3:29 pm

i got a similar setup over here

RB951Ui-2HnD as AP (DSL gateway)

WDS slave / repeater = TP-Link TL-WR841ND

EDIT:
the TP link always drops out and tries to re-connect and drops out again and so on and so on.... :?

config. of TP link:
static IP 192.168.80.200 (reachable if i connect to the TP directly)
WDS Bridging enabled
connected to main SSID "T2-HP_Backup" via "Survey" function
Ch. 1 / 20MHz ch. width
WPA/WPA2 enabled (TKIP+AES)

config. of RB951:
[please see attached file] (yes, sry for the big picture ;) but i think it'd be easier to look at the config rather than "reading" it ;) )
Bildschirmfoto 2014-11-13 um 14.27.00.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
---
raiffeisen data center infrastructure and security
...stay curious

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests