Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
johndjmix
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2010 12:13 am

Logging to a remote Syslog server?

Wed Jan 11, 2012 10:55 pm

Using routeros 5.7 on a rb1100 I hate to ask what apears to be a simple question, but ive searched everywhere with no avail! I'm trying to get my mikrotiks to log to a remote syslog server, I see where you setup a logging action, and select "remote" but where do you set the ip of the syslog server???

Thanks in advance!

--John
 
abeggled
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 4:00 pm
Location: Zollikofen, Switzerland

Re: Logging to a remote Syslog server?

Wed Jan 11, 2012 11:08 pm

system logging action edit
or use winbox System/logging/Action doubleclick to remote and set your syslog-server...
 
johndjmix
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Aug 13, 2010 12:13 am

Re: Logging to a remote Syslog server?

Wed Jan 11, 2012 11:54 pm

Ok (shrug) now I feel silly I didn't see that. Thanks

--john
 
rooin
newbie
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 10:44 am

Re: Logging to a TCP Syslog server?

Fri Jan 13, 2012 10:00 pm

Here is a more challenging question -

Is there a way to log to a TCP enabled Syslog server instead of UDP?
 
User avatar
aacable
Member
Member
Posts: 434
Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 11:58 am
Location: ISLAMIC Republic of PAKISTAN
Contact:

Re: Logging to a remote Syslog server?

Sat Jan 14, 2012 10:43 am

For remote logging , This may help.
http://aacable.wordpress.com/2011/11/29 ... og-server/
_____________
Regard's

Syed Jahanzaib
Web: http://aacable.wordpress.com
Email: aacable [at] hotmail.com
 
rooin
newbie
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 10:44 am

Re: Logging to a remote Syslog server?

Wed May 02, 2012 9:33 pm

I've still not been able to get the Mikrotik to log to a TCP server instead of UDP.

Anyone else have any ideas?
 
junkie
just joined
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2009 8:47 pm

Re: Logging to a remote Syslog server?

Wed Mar 20, 2013 12:40 pm

UP

I have a system that sends logs for every new connection accepted from a nas to a remote syslog server over wan, and in this case, TCP is the appropriate protocol, because i cannot and i dont want loose any packet.
It's possible to know how to make it possible, since in ROS i cannot find any command for select TCP instead UDP?
 
rooin
newbie
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 10:44 am

Re: Logging to a remote Syslog server?

Thu Mar 21, 2013 5:20 am

I ended up just going UDP/BSD. So far it's been just fine, but I'm also not logging to a location outside of my network.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 77 guests