Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020

martr84
just joined
Topic Author

Virgin Media(uk) and rb751u-2hnd

Sun Feb 12, 2012 1:46 am

I am new to the routerboard scene, but have just bought a rb751u-2hnd for use on my 50mbit virgin media connection. using the default config provided with the router I should be able to plug my modem into ether-1 and a laptop in ether2 and get Internet access. However I don't.

The router receives an ip via dhcp from the ISP, however pinging an external ip directly from the router comes back with 100% loss. So anyone had similar experiences?

elektromonter
just joined

Re: Virgin Media(uk) and rb751u-2hnd

Sun Feb 12, 2012 9:20 am

Start from pinging your gateway, if that don't succeed check if in
/ip route print
you should have default route like :
Flags: X - disabled, A - active, D - dynamic, C - connect, S - static, r - rip, b - bgp, o - ospf, m - mme,
B - blackhole, U - unreachable, P - prohibit
 #      DST-ADDRESS        PREF-SRC        GATEWAY-STATE GATEWAY                       DISTANCE INTERFACE
 0 ADS  0.0.0.0/0        reachable       [i] [your_gateway_address]   [/i]       1        ether1
 1 ADC[i]  [..... your directly connected network address assigned by dhcp from Virgin][/i]
if you don't have default route check if in dhcp-client settings:
/ip dhcp-client export
you have:
# feb/12/2012
#
/ip dhcp-client
add default-route-distance=0 disabled=no interface=ether1

If I help you - Give me Karma

martr84
just joined
Topic Author

Mon Feb 13, 2012 1:11 am

Good News,

I got it working, thank you for all the help.

i had not rebooted the virgin media modem, even though the modem was supplying an ip address from the isp and all the correct subnet, DNS details etc.