Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
mardawe
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 10:31 pm

How to hide MACs ????

Wed Mar 14, 2012 11:01 pm

hello .. could you tell me please how to hide mac addresses from beeing shown in scanning tools such as NETSCAN ??


it's a big problem for me.

thanks
MahmouD KhuffasH
PALESTINE


share your experience
 
Feklar
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1726
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 11:46 pm

Re: How to hide MACs ????

Thu Mar 15, 2012 7:13 pm

Get equipment that can do what you want and set up your layer2 network in such as way as to prevent hosts from being able to see each other over it. It has nothing to do with the router since people on the same subnet/layer2 infrastructure do not need to go through the router to "talk" to each other.
 
User avatar
mardawe
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2012 10:31 pm

Re: How to hide MACs ????

Mon Mar 26, 2012 12:31 am

thank alot (Feklar) for answering ..

but i have never used layer2

could you please explain how to do that ?
MahmouD KhuffasH
PALESTINE


share your experience
 
Feklar
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1726
Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 11:46 pm

Re: How to hide MACs ????

Mon Mar 26, 2012 6:43 pm

Layer2 refers back to the OSI model for networking.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/OSI_model

Layer2 is would be devices like switches and access points. Layer3 are things like routers. Two devices on the same subnet/layer2 network can "talk" to each other directly without using a router. What this means practically for you is you need to invest in switches and access points that will actively prevent hosts from seeing each other on the same layer2 network. Client isolation on access points, VLANs or port isolation on switches.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jusdan25 and 33 guests