Community discussions

MikroTik App

alexk1r
just joined
Topic Author

Problems with ether3 and onwards and portforwarding question

Wed May 23, 2012 12:39 pm

Hi, all. Got a Routerboard 750G to replace a slowly dying Cisco (Linksys) router because I heard good things about these lovely routers, plus customisability is amazing (maybe too amazing).

This may be a stupid question but bare with me, it's my first time working with Routerboard stuff.

I set everything nicely, Internet is running, LAN is running but it only works on Ether2, which is fine as I got the main switch connected to that. Problem is the other 3 Ether ports, they don't seem to be active. I initially assume that since these 3 ports are slaves they'll take the master's (which is the perfectly working Ether2. Looking at http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:In ... face_state

That's all I have to do.. or not?

I have another question, which is about Port forwarding. I assume this is done via Firewall rules. We have one of the PC running a server for testing, which is 192.168.10.67, I set up AWS to route it here and in the old router I simply port forwarded 80 and 443 to 192.168.10.67 and it works. Unfortunately, doing something similar in firewall rules didn't work for me.

I tried this:

http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Forwardin ... nternal_IP

Replacing the numbers there with what we have but doesn't seem to be an answer.

alexk1r
just joined
Topic Author

Re: Problems with ether3 and onwards and portforwarding ques

Thu May 24, 2012 11:51 am

OK, I figured out the port forwarding issue. There's one thing I forgot to do, that is mascaraing locally. So for those who have problems, to forward outside traffic on a specific port to a local address you need to do this:

WAN IP = 9x.xxx.x8.xx4
LAN IP you want to forward to = 192.168.10.67
Port I want to forward = 80

You pretty much need these rules added:
/ip firewall nat