Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
maratgub
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 4:52 pm

Mikrotik uses only 16 of the 48 cores

Fri Sep 14, 2012 4:57 pm

Good day!
I have a poser!
there is iron
server Supermicro SERVER AS-2042G-TRF
percent of AMD Opteron X12 6234 2.40Ghz 16MB x 4 = 48 cores

I put mikrotik 5.20 sees 16 percent and 48 who do not understand!
In the BIOS all okay 48 shows

type of device id

vendor 0x1022 device 0x1600
vendor 0x1022 device 0x1601
vendor 0x1022 device 0x1602
vendor 0x1022 device 0x1603
vendor 0x1022 device 0x1604
vendor 0x1022 device 0x1605

I was 6 beta 16 CPU
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by maratgub on Fri Sep 14, 2012 5:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 5995
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: Mikrotik uses only 16 of the 48 cores

Fri Sep 14, 2012 5:02 pm

Try installing v6 beta on that router.
 
maratgub
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 4:52 pm

Re: Mikrotik uses only 16 of the 48 cores

Fri Sep 14, 2012 5:04 pm

I was 6 beta also sees only 16 CPU

All pereprobyval yes the same place on the platform ESXi
Last edited by maratgub on Fri Sep 14, 2012 5:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
maratgub
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 4:52 pm

Re: Mikrotik uses only 16 of the 48 cores

Fri Sep 14, 2012 5:57 pm

I understand the problem that is generally more mikrotik 16 cores does not see

since I put one CPU sees 12 cores
when put 2 CPU cores sees only 16 out of 24
 
maratgub
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 4:52 pm

Re: Mikrotik uses only 16 of the 48 cores

Sat Sep 15, 2012 12:04 pm

Ver. 6 beta3
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
maratgub
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 4:52 pm

Re: Mikrotik uses only 16 of the 48 cores

Sat Sep 15, 2012 2:42 pm

HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
jeremyh
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2012 1:21 pm

Re: Mikrotik uses only 16 of the 48 cores

Sun Sep 16, 2012 3:07 pm

What do you need so much processing power for??? :shock:

I really doubt you'd even see any performance improvement from 16 to 48 cores anyway, unless you are trying to route the whole internet?
 
InoX
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1967
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:44 pm

Re: Mikrotik uses only 16 of the 48 cores

Sun Sep 16, 2012 3:35 pm

Internet will go faster :lol:
 
User avatar
samotoka
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 2:18 pm
Location: Hot Water Beach, New Zealand

Re: Mikrotik uses only 16 of the 48 cores

Sun Sep 16, 2012 3:42 pm

Russians goes a little bit crazy. :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
maratgub
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 4:52 pm

Re: Mikrotik uses only 16 of the 48 cores

Sun Sep 16, 2012 4:57 pm

Russians goes a little bit crazy. :lol: :lol: :lol:
Goals and objectives you do not know!
I already use 6 years product mikrotik!
But the problem is and manufacturer's support is nothing here in the forum can not explain!
 
User avatar
samotoka
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 2:18 pm
Location: Hot Water Beach, New Zealand

Re: Mikrotik uses only 16 of the 48 cores

Sun Sep 16, 2012 5:08 pm

Chill out mate. I've been using MT since 2002 but I don't lunch rockets in the space like you. Let's make a little fun about your problem.
 
maratgub
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 4:52 pm

Re: Mikrotik uses only 16 of the 48 cores

Sun Sep 16, 2012 5:11 pm

I want to use to terminate pppoe
 
User avatar
111111
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 194
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 1:39 am
Location: BG,SOFIA

Re: Mikrotik uses only 16 of the 48 cores

Mon Sep 17, 2012 1:11 am

I want to use to terminate pppoe
and because u have a super computer u decide to make it all in one
just use 2 appliance with this CPU's it can work as live backup an balancing
or try with THIS box of Iron ;)
In God We Trust. All other must submit X.509 certificate!
 
maratgub
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 4:52 pm

Re: Mikrotik uses only 16 of the 48 cores

Mon Sep 17, 2012 4:34 pm

I want to use to terminate pppoe
and because u have a super computer u decide to make it all in one
just use 2 appliance with this CPU's it can work as live backup an balancing
or try with THIS box of Iron ;)

A certificate in the field of communication have in Russia at this piece of iron? I think not, and there is nothing to write
I've asked a question that I want to get an answer!
 
User avatar
111111
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 194
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 1:39 am
Location: BG,SOFIA

Re: Mikrotik uses only 16 of the 48 cores

Mon Sep 17, 2012 4:52 pm

answer is simple closed source ;)
some one forget to put in kernel some options
i386 kernel 2.4 limited to 16 logical cpu's
kernel 2.6 is limited to 32
3.xx not sure
In God We Trust. All other must submit X.509 certificate!
 
rado3105
Member
Member
Posts: 492
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 11:45 pm

Re: Mikrotik uses only 16 of the 48 cores

Mon Sep 17, 2012 5:12 pm

To get answer here in forum is like to wait for miracle....thats the reason why a lot of people hope of new edgemax routers of ubnt, and ubnt forum is one of the best on internet - best communication, developers listen to you and on every post you get good answer...
Here they just want to earn money for consultansts.....
 
User avatar
111111
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 194
Joined: Thu Oct 05, 2006 1:39 am
Location: BG,SOFIA

Re: Mikrotik uses only 16 of the 48 cores

Mon Sep 17, 2012 5:41 pm

To get answer here in forum is like to wait for miracle....thats the reason why a lot of people hope of new edgemax routers of ubnt, and ubnt forum is one of the best on internet - best communication, developers listen to you and on every post you get good answer...
Here they just want to earn money for consultansts.....
rado3105
Do you need direction in with forum you shout write about "one button" devices ?
Spammer is something with you see in mirror each morning
In God We Trust. All other must submit X.509 certificate!
 
User avatar
normis
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 24493
Joined: Fri May 28, 2004 11:04 am
Location: Riga, Latvia

Re: Mikrotik uses only 16 of the 48 cores

Tue Sep 18, 2012 8:22 am

Make sure you have enabled RPS in the "system resources" menu.

We will try to increase number of supported cores. This has to be changed in the Kernel, so if there are no problems, maybe in the next RouterOS v6 version.

maratgub if you wish to test a pre-release, please email support.
No answer to your question? How to write posts
 
maratgub
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 4:52 pm

Re: Mikrotik uses only 16 of the 48 cores

Tue Sep 18, 2012 2:35 pm

Thank you very much support!!!!
now I have a beast
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
samotoka
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 2:18 pm
Location: Hot Water Beach, New Zealand

Re: Mikrotik uses only 16 of the 48 cores

Tue Sep 18, 2012 2:49 pm

but don't forget - the little beast is still in beta or rc ...
 
maratgub
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 29
Joined: Fri Sep 14, 2012 4:52 pm

Re: Mikrotik uses only 16 of the 48 cores

Tue Sep 18, 2012 4:53 pm

Judging by the nuclei involved only 28 cpu is at 2 network ports think even if 4 ports THE NETWORK will be harnessing all 48 cores!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 54 guests