Page 1 of 1

Mikrotik beginner - couldn't find an existing post

Posted: Fri Oct 12, 2012 7:31 pm
by EMC
Hi there,

Sorry. But with configuration of my 751 i'm totally lost.

I searched the board for a while and find a lot of help and interesting topics. But it seems like nobody ever got such a strange idea like i do !?

What i want to do :

Configure the 751 as just an hotspot. Means, you stay at the router you have but only use an free lan port of them to connect to the mikrotik. Port is supported by DHCP of the router so there is no static route defined.

I wonder if its possible to just set up the 751 for being some kinda portable hotspot - means
You've got access to an xyz router device and all you get is an dhcp address. The mikrotik just should use the connection which is already established in/on the router. So its some kinda plug and play hotspot.


Is that possible ? Any how to or manual ?

I searched also youtube. But there is only a lot regarding that topic in non-english .what is a big problem for me.


Hope someone of the "guru" people here can help

Thanks in advance
Emc

Mikrotik beginner - couldn't find an existing post

Posted: Wed Oct 17, 2012 7:44 pm
by EMC
Wondering if anybody is able to help...

Thx

Re: Mikrotik beginner - couldn't find an existing post

Posted: Mon Nov 12, 2012 6:08 pm
by RazterOfKefrens
I guess you wan't to make your RB751 act as an Access Point. I'm a newbie to RouterOS to so i'm can't tell you how but i'm sure it can be done. Your keyword should be Access Point when you search.