Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
nelson6069
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 203
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 5:56 pm

can 80pc put in same subnet/netwotk?

Tue Oct 16, 2012 5:19 pm

can 80pc put in same subnet/netwotk?
will slow down the speed?
 
User avatar
cbrown
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 1840
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 8:57 pm
Contact:

Re: can 80pc put in same subnet/netwotk?

Tue Oct 16, 2012 5:32 pm

can 80pc put in same subnet/netwotk?
Sure
will slow down the speed?
The speed of what?
C.Brown

cbrown[at]ravenrocknetworks.com
MTCNA - MTCRE - MTCWE - MTCTCE
MTCSE - TRAINER-0179
 
nelson6069
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 203
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 5:56 pm

Re: can 80pc put in same subnet/netwotk?

Tue Oct 16, 2012 5:42 pm

can 80pc put in same subnet/netwotk?
Sure
will slow down the speed?
The speed of what?
the speed of the internet..

because i am connecting 1 line 20Mbps fiber optic provide by our local ISP and connect it to Mikrotik RB450G, and each Ethernet port will connected to 1 UBNT AP-LR access point. so all together 4 access point will be connected to Mikrotik RB450G.

This network will have around 80-100 clients(will use at the same time).

so i plan set all the device in the same subnet..

will it slow down the speed?

because i heard form someone said that, only 1 can communicate at the same time..
 
User avatar
cbrown
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 1840
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 8:57 pm
Contact:

Re: can 80pc put in same subnet/netwotk?

Tue Oct 16, 2012 5:46 pm

because i heard form someone said that, only 1 can communicate at the same time..
That is only for wireless and this applies to all wireless just not Mikrotik. The radio can only transmit or receive at any given time.

If you are not planning on doing any intense QoS the 450G will be just fine.
C.Brown

cbrown[at]ravenrocknetworks.com
MTCNA - MTCRE - MTCWE - MTCTCE
MTCSE - TRAINER-0179
 
nelson6069
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 203
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 5:56 pm

Re: can 80pc put in same subnet/netwotk?

Tue Oct 16, 2012 6:01 pm

because i heard form someone said that, only 1 can communicate at the same time..
That is only for wireless and this applies to all wireless just not Mikrotik. The radio can only transmit or receive at any given time.

If you are not planning on doing any intense QoS the 450G will be just fine.

im going to set a wireless network...
 
User avatar
cbrown
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 1840
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 8:57 pm
Contact:

Re: can 80pc put in same subnet/netwotk?

Tue Oct 16, 2012 6:08 pm

Yes, but not on the 450G. You are setting up the wireless on the Ubnt. Why would the wireless on the ubiquiti device cause the 450G to be slower?

The 450G is fine for what you need.
C.Brown

cbrown[at]ravenrocknetworks.com
MTCNA - MTCRE - MTCWE - MTCTCE
MTCSE - TRAINER-0179
 
nelson6069
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 203
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 5:56 pm

Re: can 80pc put in same subnet/netwotk?

Tue Oct 16, 2012 6:12 pm

Yes, but not on the 450G. You are setting up the wireless on the Ubnt. Why would the wireless on the ubiquiti device cause the 450G to be slower?

The 450G is fine for what you need.

the DHCP should set on UBNT or mikrotik?
because i am going to using QoS on mikrotik base on ip or user...
 
User avatar
cbrown
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 1840
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 8:57 pm
Contact:

Re: can 80pc put in same subnet/netwotk?

Tue Oct 16, 2012 6:15 pm

Mikrotik. You should have the APs bridged. If you are going to do QoS you might want to step up to RB1200 or RB1100AH.
C.Brown

cbrown[at]ravenrocknetworks.com
MTCNA - MTCRE - MTCWE - MTCTCE
MTCSE - TRAINER-0179
 
Sidi
just joined
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2012 10:48 am

Re: can 80pc put in same subnet/netwotk?

Wed Oct 17, 2012 1:14 am

Speed will be still 20Mbit - it's no difference if you have 100 clients in 1 subnet or 50 subnets.

I have 450G and with NAT, only few filter rules and 40 forwards - load is around 45%@20Mbit traffic (game servers - quite small packets). With Full Duplex 20Mbit (totally up to 40Mbit traffic) and more QoS rules, 450G might be not enough - depends on average packets size.
 
nelson6069
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 203
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 5:56 pm

Re: can 80pc put in same subnet/netwotk?

Wed Oct 17, 2012 8:46 am

Mikrotik. You should have the APs bridged. If you are going to do QoS you might want to step up to RB1200 or RB1100AH.
if not the speed will slow down?
 
nelson6069
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 203
Joined: Mon Oct 15, 2012 5:56 pm

Re: can 80pc put in same subnet/netwotk?

Wed Oct 17, 2012 9:43 am

Speed will be still 20Mbit - it's no difference if you have 100 clients in 1 subnet or 50 subnets.

I have 450G and with NAT, only few filter rules and 40 forwards - load is around 45%@20Mbit traffic (game servers - quite small packets). With Full Duplex 20Mbit (totally up to 40Mbit traffic) and more QoS rules, 450G might be not enough - depends on average packets size.

for the QoS, i just only want to set each user will equal level to share the speed...
eg. 20 users use the internet, so each user will have 1mbit each...

i just worry about the send and received of packet, because if 80 user, each user need to wait others user finish sending packet, after that it just can send the packet.. if 80 user, 1 user need to wait 79 user to send the packet, then just until them..
 
Sidi
just joined
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2012 10:48 am

Re: can 80pc put in same subnet/netwotk?

Sat Oct 20, 2012 11:47 pm

for the QoS, i just only want to set each user will equal level to share the speed...
eg. 20 users use the internet, so each user will have 1mbit each...

i just worry about the send and received of packet, because if 80 user, each user need to wait others user finish sending packet, after that it just can send the packet.. if 80 user, 1 user need to wait 79 user to send the packet, then just until them..
I don't get it now - are you worried, that ping will be too high? With correctly set-up QoS it's not a problem.

If you plan to have 80 clients, than you can't count with all of them connected and using maximal speed. Average PC user loads 1 page every x seconds - thats about 1-5Mbit for second (mostly less than second), average speed is than less than than 1Mbit for each connected user. In my network with 250 clients (most of them have half duplex 8Mbit connection) is total traffic under 40Mbit down/4Mbit up, only once in a time, there is peak to 45Mbit download (i can't tell average number of users connected - client antennas are running 24/7)
 
deejayq
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 8:33 am

Re: can 80pc put in same subnet/netwotk?

Sun Oct 21, 2012 9:45 pm

don't mean to hijack the thread, Sidi, but if you use pcq queues you can show column pcq queues in queue list to see the number of clients connected.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 55 guests