Page 1 of 1

Changing to Mikrotik

Posted: Sat Apr 13, 2013 11:10 pm
by bsterba
Hi everyone,

i bought a 751G to replace a K6 router from Pakedge/Fortinet, because i see a lot of features that i could take advantage of from starting to use Mikrotik from now forward. Now, i made the switch, and everything was running fine until i realized that the mikrotik was blocking most of my traffic out and in, i've tried to search this but cannot get it to work and was wondering if someone can point me in the right direction. Imap secure and smtps are blocked by default i guess, or atleast thats whats happening to me, how do i open this ports for the whole network, i cannot find where to define that policy and i'm not too familiarized with routeros yet.

Thanks for the help!

ben

Re: Changing to Mikrotik

Posted: Sat Apr 13, 2013 11:52 pm
by ohara
Hi Ben, you can try to go into IP>FIREWALL>NAT and disable all default configuration. A good place to start is the wiki (http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:IP/Firewall).

Re: Changing to Mikrotik

Posted: Sun Apr 14, 2013 4:05 pm
by bsterba
thanks ohara, i did the change, i will test tomorrow in the office!, does that leave the network too vulnerable an open to the outside?

Odp: Changing to Mikrotik

Posted: Sun Apr 14, 2013 4:38 pm
by ohara
It is not recommended to disable the default firewall settings especially on your gateway router. But give it a try and check if it resolves your problem. At least then we will know how help you further.