Community discussions

 
George90
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 4:50 am

Bridges kill internet?!

Sun Jun 16, 2013 5:36 am

net.jpg
This is map of my network.
In building 1 is broadband router, switch, several computers, and one Ubiquiti CPE on 5 GHz.
Ubiquiti is configured as Wireless client. All these devices are connected with LAN cables to switch.

On building 2, I have OmniTIK, and one x86 Mikrotik.
OmniTIK wireless interface is configured as ap/bridge, wlan0 and ether1 are in bridge

Ethernet cable goes from OmniTIK to x86 Mikrotik.
x86 have 3 wireless cards in AP/brigde mode. All interfaces are in brigde.

In building 1 everything works great.
But, when I connect to OmniTIK or any of wireless signals from x86 Mikrotik, I have problem...
- I can access broadband router configuration page (this is ok)
- I get IP from dhcp broadband router (this is ok)
- I can access computers (ping, file sharing, ..) (this is ok)
- I can access computers from building 1 in building 1 (ping, file sharing, ..) (this is ok)

- I cant access internet from building 2 (this is problem!)

I replaced broadband router with another, checked internet connection, and everything works great inside LAN but I can't access internet...
I know that using NAT and masquerade will solve this problem, but I want to keep everything in same network so this is not good solution for me. I don't have idea what should I do, I seen for first time something like this...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
Ivoshiee
Member
Member
Posts: 471
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 4:11 pm

Re: Bridges kill internet?!

Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:22 am

Why is NAT bad for you? If you do not have public network and addresses to distribute to your clients then you have to NAT.
Is the ubiquiti bridge as well? (I have couple of NS5 in my MT network and these tend not to act very well together. Especially bridging is a troublesome thing and I use routing for those).
Does your devices on building 2 get IP-address from building 1 network? Is it able to access building 1 devices and gateway?
 
George90
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 4:50 am

Re: Bridges kill internet?!

Sun Jun 16, 2013 4:23 pm

Why is NAT bad for you? If you do not have public network and addresses to distribute to your clients then you have to NAT.
If I use NAT between two buildings, file sharing between clients may become problem.
ubiquiti is in bridge.
Does your devices on building 2 get IP-address from building 1 network? Is it able to access building 1 devices and gateway?
Yes, they get IP addresses from broadband router. I can access all computers, and everything inside LAN works, but internet doesn't.
 
cabletech
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2013 9:26 pm

Re: Bridges kill internet?!

Sun Jun 16, 2013 9:49 pm

From your broadband router, do you assign IP's to all devices in both buildings or just building 1?

From building 1 to building 2, you should have the link in bridge mode and in building 2 from the link antenna into a router that will then assign IP's to devices.

You do not need or want any other wireless devices in a brige mode, on the link between the buildings.

Do you need to be able to log into computers in building1 from building 2?

I have several locations that I manage that have a simaler setup and I have them as follows:

internet modum to a Mikrotik router>switch for in building network and one port that is for a 5g link antenna/radio in bridge mode to building 2 that is then connected to a secound Mikrotik router that is then connected to a switch for network in that building.

Each building is on a differant IP addressing but is still able to access the internet and with some simple routing configuation in the Mikrotik are also able to pass traffic to the other buildings network.

Mostly thu a file sharing computer.

There are also some nice online videos on setting up a system. Gregsowell.com has a lot of videos on this and routing
 
George90
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 4:50 am

Re: Bridges kill internet?!

Mon Jun 17, 2013 4:06 am

DHCP in broadband router gives ip addresses to all devices.

I don't need to log in from building 2 to computer located in building 1, but this is not important because this work. All LAN services works without any problems but Internet doesn't work in building 2 and there is no that I can do.

Problem may be in:
bridges configuration or too much bridges
TTL
or something other... (probably problem with mac addresses)
 
Ivoshiee
Member
Member
Posts: 471
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 4:11 pm

Re: Bridges kill internet?!

Mon Jun 17, 2013 12:12 pm

or something other... (probably problem with mac addresses)
Check if the MAC addresses travelling through your bridges are preserved or you'll likely just see all as being the same.
 
George90
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 4:50 am

Re: Bridges kill internet?!

Sat Jun 22, 2013 7:25 am

Ok, but this shouldn't be problem. Packets that need to go outside lan uses default gateway, and it's accessible (at least on port 80).

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 39 guests