Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
asa
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2013 11:38 am

2 ISP, 2 networks, full failover

Tue Jul 02, 2013 12:10 pm

Hello
I have network topology like this:
Network1 ---- L2+ switch ---- RB2011UAS ---- ISP1
                      |
                      |
Network2 ---- L2+ switch ---- RB2011UAS ---- ISP2
ISP1 and ISP2 cannot provide any routing protocol for me. Networks are splited by VLANs, switches support only static routing
Which technologies should I use to get full failover and maximum bandwith utilization for this network topology?
 
raz
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 102
Joined: Wed Dec 19, 2012 3:26 pm
Location: Austria

Re: 2 ISP, 2 networks, full failover

Tue Jul 02, 2013 1:59 pm

Network1 ---- L2+ switch ---- RB2011UAS ---- ISP 1 + ISP 2
L2 do only switching.

RB2011UAS = http://mum.mikrotik.com/presentations/PL12/pina.pdf
 
asa
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2013 11:38 am

Re: 2 ISP, 2 networks, full failover

Wed Jul 03, 2013 10:15 am

Network1 ---- L2+ switch ---- RB2011UAS ---- ISP 1 + ISP 2
L2 do only switching.

RB2011UAS = http://mum.mikrotik.com/presentations/PL12/pina.pdf
I can't merge Network1 and Network2 in one net because they are placed in different buildings and should operate even if link between buildings or electricity in some building fail.
My switches can do static routing because they are L2+ like Cisco 300 series switches: http://www.cisco.com/en/US/prod/collate ... 10061.html
 
rjickity
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 212
Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2010 10:40 am
Location: Perth, Australia

Re: 2 ISP, 2 networks, full failover

Thu Jul 04, 2013 12:25 am

Ospf ecmp for your wans. And you could do vrrp for your lans. You'd most likely need to change a bit of config for this though, like bringing the lan networks to both routers

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
 
User avatar
c0d3rSh3ll
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 558
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 9:42 pm
Location: [admin@Chile] >

Re: 2 ISP, 2 networks, full failover

Thu Jul 04, 2013 9:50 am

and this topology?
                                   |----------NETWORK1
ISP1 + ISP2 -----RB2011  |
                                   |----------NETWORK2
nothing
 
rjickity
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 212
Joined: Sat Jul 17, 2010 10:40 am
Location: Perth, Australia

Re: 2 ISP, 2 networks, full failover

Thu Jul 04, 2013 12:16 pm

One router and 2 wans ? Use mangle and routing marks. Pcc is good for this

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
 
asa
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Jul 02, 2013 11:38 am

Re: 2 ISP, 2 networks, full failover

Thu Jul 11, 2013 8:48 am

Ospf ecmp for your wans. And you could do vrrp for your lans. You'd most likely need to change a bit of config for this though, like bringing the lan networks to both routers
It looks like right solution for me. I haven't strong experience in OSPF and know nothing about ECMP, but will learn.
and this topology?
                                   |----------NETWORK1
ISP1 + ISP2 -----RB2011  |
                                   |----------NETWORK2
No way. I have to place RB2011 in one building in this case and if electricity fails on this building another building will stay without internet connection after UPS battery discharge.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 31 guests