Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
niren
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 9:59 am

Should I need RouterOS

Tue Oct 15, 2013 9:50 am

I am using Mikrotik RouterBoard 750 GL.

I want to configure my Gateway(Router) for security management, Should I use RouterOS for my requirement or can it be done by winbox.

If it is done by Winbox then what is the purpose of RouterOS.

Basically my question is I guess I can use winbox to access Mikrotik router configuration so that I can achieve IDS/IPS, monitor IPs, IPsec and more, then why should I use RouterOS?
 
deejayq
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 8:33 am

Re: Should I need RouterOS

Fri Oct 18, 2013 12:35 pm

RouterOS, as it's name says it's the Operating System of the router you're using.
you may be referring to something else.
 
niren
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 9:59 am

Re: Should I need RouterOS

Fri Oct 18, 2013 4:31 pm

RouterOS, as it's name says it's the Operating System of the router you're using.
you may be referring to something else.

If that is the case why there is a link http://www.mikrotik-routeros.net/install.aspx says I can install RouterOS separately to access Router configuration, So Installed RouterOS(separately in PC) and RB750GL would be act as single router, doesn't it?. Correct me If I wrong.


Things I have already: RouterBoard 750GL, Working LAN setup for every system in my office, Winbox to manage configuration.

Since I have read that winbox, webFig, telnet, ect are not secure to manage router, I had to go for RouterOS. If RouterOS(separately in PC) is not need for my requirement please let me know.
 
efaden
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1711
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 1:55 am
Location: New York, USA

Re: Should I need RouterOS

Fri Oct 18, 2013 8:23 pm

RouterOS, as it's name says it's the Operating System of the router you're using.
you may be referring to something else.

If that is the case why there is a link http://www.mikrotik-routeros.net/install.aspx says I can install RouterOS separately to access Router configuration, So Installed RouterOS(separately in PC) and RB750GL would be act as single router, doesn't it?. Correct me If I wrong.


Things I have already: RouterBoard 750GL, Working LAN setup for every system in my office, Winbox to manage configuration.

Since I have read that winbox, webFig, telnet, ect are not secure to manage router, I had to go for RouterOS. If RouterOS(separately in PC) is not need for my requirement please let me know.
Because you can ALSO run it on a computer and use it as a router there.... but Deejayg is correct. RouterOS is the operating system that runs on the router. You can use Winbox, WebFig, SSH, Telnet, etc to configure it. SSH is secure, Winbox has a secure mode, and WebFig can be made secure. I'd read the actual mikrotik Wiki instead of the page you referenced. wiki.mikrotik.com

-Eric

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bogdan, jaceqp123, lokz, MCPC10, negr0, TomaszF and 61 guests