Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
stefagtx
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2013 11:03 pm

Setup pppoe client on Mikrotik

Thu Oct 17, 2013 11:28 pm

Hello everyone.. :)

Well first off all i have internet (wireless) which is protected with User name and Pass (pppoe) So when i want to connect to internet i need to write user and password in pppoe window , and yesterday i got Routerboard 411 which i think can be used to connect to internet and my PC with him (Router) thought lan.So i want to make that Router to do that pppoe dialing automatic and send me internet thought lan on my PC so then i dont need to write user and pass just connect to lan :D ...

So how do i make that in Mikrotik?? i tried something(with winbox) i made some bridge with ethern1 and wlan1(Which i connected with wireless internet router) and then i got again on my pc window where i need to again write user and pass....

It would be cool if you can help me.. :)
 
samsung172
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1186
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 3:45 am
Location: Østfold - Norway
Contact:

Re: Setup pppoe client on Mikrotik

Sat Oct 19, 2013 12:45 am

try to use the quick setup.

PS, don't bridge for this setup if you don't want to use pppoe at your machine.

Manualy:

Setup ip to lan, and add a dhcp server. PS, check DNS settings. use your router, and set dns to allow remote request.
add a ppp profile, that fit pppoe server requirements, and make a pppoe client using that profile

add a nat rule using pppoe interface as out interface.

wolla. it should work.
 
stefagtx
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2013 11:03 pm

Re: Setup pppoe client on Mikrotik

Sat Oct 19, 2013 1:49 am

I tried but nothing , pppoe says is connected but there no internet..
 
samsung172
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1186
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 3:45 am
Location: Østfold - Norway
Contact:

Re: Setup pppoe client on Mikrotik

Mon Oct 21, 2013 10:44 pm

do you get a ip? and does it route? Can you ping the gateway?
 
kadmos
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Jun 03, 2013 3:39 pm

Re: Setup pppoe client on Mikrotik

Mon Oct 21, 2013 11:42 pm

have you checked nat?
 
stefagtx
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2013 11:03 pm

Re: Setup pppoe client on Mikrotik

Tue Oct 22, 2013 12:17 am

OKe well I don't get ip from router to my Machine , and i configured nat in firewall
But i got something unclear
"check DNS settings. use your router" How do you mean use your router?
and
"add a ppp profile, that fit pppoe server requirements" That fit pppoe server requirements?

Image in winbox
Image
 
samsung172
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1186
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 3:45 am
Location: Østfold - Norway
Contact:

Re: Setup pppoe client on Mikrotik

Tue Oct 22, 2013 1:13 am

Yes. Try to put this config like this:

ros code

/ppp profile add change-tcp-mss=no name=pppoe-client only-one=no use-compression=no use-encryption=no use-mpls=default use-vj-compression=no
/interface pppoe-client add ac-name="" add-default-route=yes allow=mschap2 dial-on-demand=no disabled=no interface=wlan1 max-mru=1492 max-mtu=1492 mrru=disabled name=pppoe password=PASWORD profile=pppoe-client servicename=DEFAULT use-peer-dns=yes user=USERNAME
 
stefagtx
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2013 11:03 pm

Re: Setup pppoe client on Mikrotik

Tue Oct 22, 2013 6:32 pm

I wrote codes but still nothing ,says is connected but doesn't want to share internet on my machine..

Image
 
RB951G2HnD
newbie
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2013 9:52 am

Re: Setup pppoe client on Mikrotik

Wed Oct 23, 2013 10:51 am

What does keepalive-timeout (time; Default: "10") means?

Description:
Defines the time period (in seconds) after which the router is starting to send keepalive packets every second. If no traffic and no keepalive responses came for that period of time (i.e. 2 * keepalive-timeout), not responding client is proclaimed disconnected.

Am I right that that if router (PPPoE client) wouldn't be receiving reply from PPPoE server after 10 seconds then PPPoE client will initiate an attempt for a reconnection state? And if PPPoE connection was lost it will reconnects automatically.

Thanks in advance for the clarification.

Andrew
---------------
Andrew
 
stefagtx
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2013 11:03 pm

Re: Setup pppoe client on Mikrotik

Wed Oct 23, 2013 8:22 pm

What does keepalive-timeout (time; Default: "10") means?

Description:
Defines the time period (in seconds) after which the router is starting to send keepalive packets every second. If no traffic and no keepalive responses came for that period of time (i.e. 2 * keepalive-timeout), not responding client is proclaimed disconnected.

Am I right that that if router (PPPoE client) wouldn't be receiving reply from PPPoE server after 10 seconds then PPPoE client will initiate an attempt for a reconnection state? And if PPPoE connection was lost it will reconnects automatically.

Thanks in advance for the clarification.

Andrew
What?
 
User avatar
boldsuck
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 58
Joined: Sun Sep 01, 2013 1:07 am
Location: Germany

Re: Setup pppoe client on Mikrotik

Wed Oct 23, 2013 10:37 pm

kadmos asked that too. Check NAT. Your pppoe interface needs a NAT rule.

Ciao Marco!
╰_╯ Ciao Marco!
 
samsung172
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1186
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2009 3:45 am
Location: Østfold - Norway
Contact:

Re: Setup pppoe client on Mikrotik

Thu Oct 24, 2013 12:29 am

Why do you have 0 bytes in send from your computer?

Yor pppoe seems to work. _Your log says that you recive a DNS. I assume you also get a ip.

Now you need to use this IP address. So.. How do you do this?


Try to put following code:

ros code

/ip address add address=10.251.1.1/24 comment=local interface=ether1

/ip pool add name=dhcp_pool1 ranges=10.251.10.2-10.251.1.250
/ip dhcp-server add address-pool=dhcp_pool1 disabled=no interface=ether1 name=dhcp1


/ip dhcp-server network add address=10.251.1.0/24 dns-server=8.8.8.8,10.251.1.1 gateway=10.251.1.1

/ip dns set allow-remote-requests=yes cache-max-ttl=5m

/ip firewall connection tracking set enabled=no generic-timeout=1m icmp-timeout=2s tcp-established-timeout=30m tcp-syncookie=yes udp-stream-timeout=30s udp-timeout=5s
/ip firewall nat add action=masquerade chain=srcnat out-interface=pppoe src-address=10.251.1.0/24
 
stefagtx
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2013 11:03 pm

Re: Setup pppoe client on Mikrotik

Thu Oct 24, 2013 4:16 pm

OKe Thank you so much all :) for help :)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 32 guests