MikroTik App

yngndrw
just joined
Topic Author

Line-bonding over 3G connections

Sun Oct 27, 2013 12:56 am

Hi All,

I'm totally new to RouterOS.

First of all, a little back story. We have moved into a new house and British Telecoms have been extremely incompetent at setting up a phone line and broadband. After three months we have a phone line but still no broadband. In the mean time we have been using 3G by tethering our Samsung Galaxy S4's (With Three's "The One Plan" which allows unlimited data and tethering but does not allow USB dongle usage.) which has been quite good but we would like to take it a step further.

There are a couple of things we are trying. The first is to use Ubiquiti AirGrid M2s to connect to a friend's house which is a mile - He has Virgin so we can just pay the difference for him to get a better package and use that. The issue is that there are taller buildings in the path so I don't have a high level of confidence in that experiment, but we will try it just in case.

The second is to do line bonding over the two 3G connections. (And the ADSL connection when it is finally set up.) I have ordered a RB 2011UiAS-RM which will be our main router for our house. I am hoping that I can use the USB port to tether both phones and not have to resort to getting two Wifi adapters, but either way will be able to get both connections into the router. I have also ordered a RB 951G-2HnD which will be in our friend's house for the experiment. (May co-locate a RB 750 in a data centre if this works well.) What I would like is to perform line bonding over multiple connections between the two routers. On the remote side the Virgin connection will be shared by the NAT firewall. It is important that the remote router is pretty much transparent for my friend and has no impact on his usage.