Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
RB951G2HnD
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2013 9:52 am

How to configure WiFi on a RB951G-2HnD with SW v6.5?

Thu Dec 26, 2013 9:36 am

I have a configured and working fine router RB951G-2HnD with the additional access point (AP) connected. Now I need to configure internal AP in router with different SSID. So I need to have a second standalone AP.

I had successfully configured wlan1 interface. I can see the authenticated clients but all of them does not receive IPs via DHCP server. If I understood correct I need to setup a bridge interface and add two ports eth2 (LAN master port) and wlan1 into it. When I adding eth2 port into bridge on the DHCP server window I see that string becoming red. Is it DHCP conflict due to another AP is in use? Could somebody give advice please how to configure it correctly?
---------------
Andrew
 
User avatar
cbrown
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 1840
Joined: Thu Oct 14, 2010 8:57 pm
Contact:

Re: How to configure WiFi on a RB951G-2HnD with SW v6.5?

Thu Dec 26, 2013 10:00 am

This is because you will need to run your DHCP server on the bridge interface and not directly on the ethernet interface.
C.Brown

cbrown[at]ravenrocknetworks.com
MTCNA - MTCRE - MTCWE - MTCTCE
MTCSE - TRAINER-0179
 
RB951G2HnD
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2013 9:52 am

Re: How to configure WiFi on a RB951G-2HnD with SW v6.5?

Mon Dec 30, 2013 4:04 pm

Yes I thought so and it is true. Now it works fine. Thanks!
---------------
Andrew
 
rajeshmike
just joined
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2012 11:08 am

Re: How to configure WiFi on a RB951G-2HnD with SW v6.5?

Wed Mar 12, 2014 8:55 am

Please help to configure
I have 2 ADSL lines of 5 mb each wired to RB 750 routerboard on which I run hotspot for the users in the building through ethernet cable networked
My question is -- i want to install wireless devices RB951G-2HnD in each floor of the building connected through ethernet cables and use these devices as access points for the users in the building and later stop using ethernet network
I still want to use RB750 as hotspot and give IP addresses to the users.
I tried to setup RB951G-2HnD with quick setup with winbox, I get the IP from RB750,,,but I cannot access when i am connected through access points....and also all the ethernet network users also cannot get to the Internet...I will get IP for all the devices,,, from RB750 ...but no internet when I plug in the RB951G-2HnD as AP in the network
please help me?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 35 guests