Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
boo9
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 81
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 5:19 pm

IP address on eth port with vlans.

Sun Jan 05, 2014 4:00 pm

I have bunch of vlans 'under' eth4 port. The eth4 port dont have any IP assigned, the vlans do have, IPs and DHCP servers.

Can I assign IP and dhcp server to the eth4 interface ? will that 'shadow' the vlan IPS ? will that disable vlans ?
If I assign IP to eth4 and connect a computer through cable, will the port act as standard eth4 interface ?
 
plisken
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2475
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 12:24 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: IP address on eth port with vlans.

Sun Jan 05, 2014 7:36 pm

I think is not possible
 
Rudios
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 966
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 12:58 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: IP address on eth port with vlans.

Sun Jan 05, 2014 7:46 pm

It will act as normal port, but also depend on the way you configured the Vlan's.
The only thing is that if you have multiple vlan's, the interface is acting as a trunk. Connecting a computer directly makes no sense, except for the fact that it will be temporarily.
Testing setup with: 2 x RB750UP | 2 x RB750GL | 1 x RB951G-2HnD | 1 x RB2011UiAS-IN
 
User avatar
leoktv
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 142
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 1:39 pm
Location: sweden
Contact:

Re: IP address on eth port with vlans.

Sun Jan 05, 2014 11:25 pm

It is possible to do with no problem but switches don't realy support it but MikroTik to MikroTik it is no problem.
_________________
Leo De Geer, Mikrotik Certified Consultant/Trainer #TR0003, MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCWE, MTCTCE, MTCINE, MTCUME, MTCIPv6E MTCSE MTCASE MTCSWE & MikroTik Distributor
http://www.mikrotik.se
support[at]mikrotik.se
Office: +46 325 660 650
 
boo9
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 81
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 5:19 pm

Re: IP address on eth port with vlans.

Mon Jan 06, 2014 11:35 am

I thought that connecting a computer to eth4 port (diagnostics setup puprose) the untagged packets from the computer would land onto eth4 interface instead of vlans.
 
bingo220
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 124
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2013 9:30 pm
Location: Ukraine

Re: IP address on eth port with vlans.

Mon Jan 06, 2014 12:42 pm

My config has 24 vlans on eth12-port.
eth12-port has dhcp-server (192.168.200.0/24)
vlan01 has dhcp-server (192.168.201.0/24)
vlan02 has dhcp-server (192.168.202.0/24)
...
vlan24 has dhcp-server (192.168.224.0/24)
-----------------------------------------------
Network scheme is here http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=77013
It works fine.
 
boo9
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 81
Joined: Sat Jul 09, 2011 5:19 pm

Re: IP address on eth port with vlans.

Mon Jan 06, 2014 3:38 pm

@bingo, I see you have a DGS, I have an issue with my DGS-1210-52, The DHCP traffic on vlans (except vlan1) is blocked unless I put dhcp server IP into "DHCP server screening" list. However there list is limited to 5 dhcp server hosts and I have more vlans. Did you experience anythink like that ?

https://docs.google.com/drawings/d/19IL ... sp=sharing
 
bingo220
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 124
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2013 9:30 pm
Location: Ukraine

Re: IP address on eth port with vlans.

Mon Jan 06, 2014 4:22 pm

boo9 , I have no problem.
25 DHCP-servers work fine.
My config (mikrotik eth12-port is connected to D-Link port-26)

D-LINK SETUP:
config vlan default delete 1-24

create vlan k01 tag 1001
config vlan k01 add untagged 1
config vlan k01 add tagged 26

create vlan k02 tag 1002
config vlan k02 add untagged 2
config vlan k02 add tagged 26
...
create vlan k24 tag 1024
config vlan k24 add untagged 24
config vlan k24 add tagged 26

save

MIKROTIK SETUP:

/interface
set 11 name=”eth12” disabled=no
/ip address
add address=192.168.200.1/24 interface=eth12
/ ip pool
add name="dhcp-pool-local" ranges=192.168.200.10-192.168.200.254
/ ip dhcp-server
add name="dhcp-local" interface=eth12 address-pool=dhcp-pool-local disabled=no
/ ip dhcp-server network
add address=192.168.200.0/24 gateway=192.168.200.1 dns-server=192.168.200.1
/ip dns
set servers=8.8.8.8,8.8.4.4 allow-remote-requests=yes

SETUP MIKROTIK-VLANS:

/interface vlan
add name=vlan01 vlan-id=1001 interface=eth12
add name=vlan02 vlan-id=1002 interface=eth12
...
add name=vlan24 vlan-id=1024 interface=eth12

/ip address
add address=192.168.201.1/24 interface=vlan01
add address=192.168.202.1/24 interface=vlan02
...
add address=192.168.224.1/24 interface=vlan24

/ip pool
add name=pool01 ranges=192.168.201.10-192.168.201.254
add name=pool02 ranges=192.168.202.10-192.168.202.254
...
add name=pool24 ranges=192.168.224.10-192.168.224.254

/ip dhcp-server
add authoritative=yes name=dhcp01 interface=vlan01 address-pool=pool01 disabled=no
add authoritative=yes name=dhcp02 interface=vlan02 address-pool=pool02 disabled=no
...
add authoritative=yes name=dhcp24 interface=vlan24 address-pool=pool24 disabled=no

/ip dhcp-server network
add address=192.168.201.0/24 gateway=192.168.201.1 dns-server=192.168.201.1
add address=192.168.202.0/24 gateway=192.168.202.1 dns-server=192.168.202.1
...
add address=192.168.224.0/24 gateway=192.168.224.1 dns-server=192.168.224.1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 53 guests