Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
Uros
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 4:18 pm

RB951G-2HnD connecting two networks

Tue Jan 07, 2014 6:26 am

Hello

I have an RB951G-2HnD MikroTik router running RouterOS 5.25.

This is my current simple router setup:
INTERFACES:
Flags: D - dynamic, X - disabled, R - running, S - slave 
 #     NAME    TYPE               MTU L2MTU  MAX-L2MTU
 0  X  ether1  ether             1500  1598       4074
 1  R  ether2  ether             1500  1598       4074
 2  X  ether3  ether             1500  1598       4074
 3  R  ether4  ether             1500  1598       4074
 4  X  ether5  ether             1500  1598       4074
 5  X  wlan1 

IP ADDRESSES:
Flags: X - disabled, I - invalid, D - dynamic 
 #   ADDRESS            NETWORK         INTERFACE                                                                                                                                            
 0   10.0.0.175/24      10.0.0.0        ether2                                                                                                                                               
 1   192.168.0.1/24     192.168.0.0     ether4   

IP ROUTES:
Flags: X - disabled, A - active, D - dynamic, C - connect, S - static, r - rip, b - bgp, o - ospf, m - mme, B - blackhole, U - unreachable, P - prohibit 
 #      DST-ADDRESS        PREF-SRC        GATEWAY            DISTANCE
 0 ADC  10.0.0.0/24        10.0.0.175      ether2                    0
 1 ADC  192.168.0.0/24     192.168.0.1     ether4                    0
Only two interfaces are active, ether2 and ether4 each connected to a different network.
I tried to ping different computers on both networks from the router and it works just fine (eg. I can ping computers 10.0.0.4 and 192.168.0.2).

But I can't ping computers in 10.0.0.0/24 from 192.168.0.0/24. For example, my computer is in the 192.168.0.0/24 network and it set up like this:
IP address: 192.168.0.2/24
Default gateway: 192.168.0.1

From my computer, I CAN ping 10.0.0.175, which is the IP address of the ether2 port, but I CANNOT ping 10.0.0.4 or any other computer connected to that network.
Is there anything else I should set up for this to work?
 
Rudios
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 966
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 12:58 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: RB951G-2HnD connecting two networks

Tue Jan 07, 2014 11:36 am

Check the gateway settings on the devices connected to the 10.0.0.0/0 network.
They should have 10.0.0.175. If not, set them to make it work.
Testing setup with: 2 x RB750UP | 2 x RB750GL | 1 x RB951G-2HnD | 1 x RB2011UiAS-IN
 
Uros
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 04, 2014 4:18 pm

Re: RB951G-2HnD connecting two networks

Tue Jan 07, 2014 8:57 pm

Check the gateway settings on the devices connected to the 10.0.0.0/0 network.
They should have 10.0.0.175. If not, set them to make it work.
Thanks a lot! I've been trying to crack this one for days.
I can't change the gateway on the devices on 10.0.0.0/24, because I'm not the administrator of that network, but setting up NAT on my MikroTik router did the trick.
 
Rudios
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 966
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 12:58 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: RB951G-2HnD connecting two networks

Wed Jan 08, 2014 9:59 am

Check the gateway settings on the devices connected to the 10.0.0.0/0 network.
They should have 10.0.0.175. If not, set them to make it work.
Thanks a lot! I've been trying to crack this one for days.
I can't change the gateway on the devices on 10.0.0.0/24, because I'm not the administrator of that network, but setting up NAT on my MikroTik router did the trick.
NAT is also a possibility :)
Testing setup with: 2 x RB750UP | 2 x RB750GL | 1 x RB951G-2HnD | 1 x RB2011UiAS-IN
 
dkirwan
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2014 5:27 pm

Re: RB951G-2HnD connecting two networks

Mon Feb 03, 2014 7:25 am

Hi All,

I have the same problem with you guys, may i know how do trick on the NAT?

Thx
 
deejayq
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 8:33 am

Re: RB951G-2HnD connecting two networks

Mon Feb 03, 2014 12:46 pm

chain src-nat action masquerade out via ether2
 
dkirwan
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2014 5:27 pm

Re: RB951G-2HnD connecting two networks

Tue Feb 04, 2014 10:27 am

thx deejayq for your information, I've forgot to mention, I have internet connection on port1 and already masquerade the out via port1, do i need to have add another masquerade entries?

so actually my configuration is:
port 1: internet
port 2: ip 192.168.10.xxx/24
port 3: ip 10.15.165.xxx/24


thx again
 
deejayq
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 8:33 am

Re: RB951G-2HnD connecting two networks

Wed Feb 05, 2014 3:06 pm

yes of course, set the first masquerading rule out via ether 1 so that your internet will work
set the second masquerading rule out via the interface on which the mikrotik router is not the gateway.
 
dkirwan
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2014 5:27 pm

Re: RB951G-2HnD connecting two networks

Wed Feb 05, 2014 6:33 pm

Got it, it's working now, but I have another issue with the routing, right now I have two next hop on my routing table, the first one is goes to the port 3 ip gateway and the second hop is internet gateway, If I go to internet using client PC on network 192.168.10.xxx sometime is can't get through, i try to ping google, it came out with RTO and some time is connected. after I tried to trace route google on winbox terminal, it always try to get the first-hop first, did miss I something here, maybe the distance or the scope?

Thx

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 44 guests