Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
gering7
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 2:37 pm

Issue with basic installation of RB951G-2HnD

Sat Jan 11, 2014 3:05 pm

I have new RB951G-2HnD router. I did basic configuration of subject device with static ip address.
Here is my configuration:

/ip address
add address=80.245.89.17/24 interface=ether1 network=80.245.89.0

/ip route
add distance=1 gateway=80.245.89.1

/ip firewall nat
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat out-interface=ether1

Issue is that I can't ping my gateway and any other ip addresses outside the lan.

Why it's not working?
 
plisken
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2438
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 12:24 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Issue with basic installation of RB951G-2HnD

Tue Jan 14, 2014 8:58 pm

Try this
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
gering7
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 2:37 pm

Re: Issue with basic installation of RB951G-2HnD

Wed Jan 15, 2014 12:42 pm

Try this
thank you for your reply

I tried that and result is the same
 
Rudios
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 966
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 12:58 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Issue with basic installation of RB951G-2HnD

Thu Jan 16, 2014 1:09 pm

How is your local LAN configured, and how did you setup dns?
Testing setup with: 2 x RB750UP | 2 x RB750GL | 1 x RB951G-2HnD | 1 x RB2011UiAS-IN
 
gering7
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 2:37 pm

Re: Issue with basic installation of RB951G-2HnD

Thu Jan 16, 2014 1:18 pm

How is your local LAN configured, and how did you setup dns?
Cunfigured DHCP server. LAN is working fine. DNS was setuped form settings menu. Allow remote request checkbox is checked.

And I ping gateway from mikrotik not from local machine
 
plisken
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2438
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 12:24 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Issue with basic installation of RB951G-2HnD

Thu Jan 16, 2014 2:24 pm

Have you configured a DHCP-client for WAN
 
gering7
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 2:37 pm

Re: Issue with basic installation of RB951G-2HnD

Thu Jan 16, 2014 2:27 pm

Have you configured a DHCP-client for WAN
no, because ISP provide me static IP
 
plisken
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2438
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 12:24 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Issue with basic installation of RB951G-2HnD

Thu Jan 16, 2014 2:32 pm

Try it with dhcp-client
 
gering7
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 2:37 pm

Re: Issue with basic installation of RB951G-2HnD

Thu Jan 16, 2014 2:36 pm

Try it with dhcp-client
dhcp-client should be configured with and static ip address in same time, right?
 
plisken
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2438
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 12:24 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Issue with basic installation of RB951G-2HnD

Thu Jan 16, 2014 2:44 pm

I think so, ik have not experience with static IP but i try to help you
 
gering7
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 2:37 pm

Re: Issue with basic installation of RB951G-2HnD

Thu Jan 16, 2014 2:48 pm

I think so, ik have not experience with static IP but i try to help you
thank you. I'll try that today at evening
 
plisken
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2438
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 12:24 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Issue with basic installation of RB951G-2HnD

Thu Jan 16, 2014 3:00 pm

 
gering7
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 2:37 pm

Re: Issue with basic installation of RB951G-2HnD

Thu Jan 16, 2014 8:35 pm

Have you configured a DHCP-client for WAN
I've tried both these things and result is the same
 
efaden
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1711
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 1:55 am
Location: New York, USA

Re: Issue with basic installation of RB951G-2HnD

Thu Jan 16, 2014 8:37 pm

If you are getting a static ip from your ISP you don't need to run DHCP on that interface. Are you sure it isn't static being provided by DHCP?... Also are you sure your subnet mask and gateway are correct?

Post your whole export... and post a print of your routing table.

-Eric
 
gering7
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 2:37 pm

Re: Issue with basic installation of RB951G-2HnD

Thu Jan 16, 2014 8:47 pm

If you are getting a static ip from your ISP you don't need to run DHCP on that interface. Are you sure it isn't static being provided by DHCP?... Also are you sure your subnet mask and gateway are correct?

Post your whole export... and post a print of your routing table.

-Eric
I'm 100% that I have static ip and all data is correct, because in case of direct connection to laptop everything is working fine. Also my ip address is tied with mac address of mikrotik ether1.

So? here is my data

[admin@MikroTik] > export
# jan/02/1970 19:24:11 by RouterOS 6.7
# software id = 3QVC-XWWT
#
/interface bridge
add l2mtu=2290 name=bridge1 protocol-mode=rstp
/interface ethernet
set [ find default-name=ether3 ] master-port=ether2
set [ find default-name=ether4 ] master-port=ether2
set [ find default-name=ether5 ] master-port=ether2
/interface wireless security-profiles
add authentication-types=wpa-psk,wpa2-psk eap-methods="" \
management-protection=allowed mode=dynamic-keys name=WPA2 \
supplicant-identity="" wpa-pre-shared-key=gering89Ger \
wpa2-pre-shared-key=gering89Ger
/interface wireless
set [ find default-name=wlan1 ] band=2ghz-b/g/n dfs-mode=no-radar-detect \
disabled=no l2mtu=2290 mode=ap-bridge security-profile=WPA2 ssid=\
"Wireless Lan" wireless-protocol=802.11
/ip hotspot user profile
set [ find default=yes ] idle-timeout=none keepalive-timeout=2m \
mac-cookie-timeout=3d
/ip pool
add name=dhcp_pool1 ranges=192.168.1.2-192.168.1.254
/ip dhcp-server
add address-pool=dhcp_pool1 disabled=no interface=bridge1 name=dhcp1
/interface bridge port
add bridge=bridge1 interface=ether2
add bridge=bridge1 interface=wlan1
/ip address
add address=192.168.1.1/24 comment="LAN IP Subnet" interface=bridge1 network=\
192.168.1.0
add address=80.245.89.17/24 interface=ether1 network=80.245.89.0
/ip dhcp-server network
add address=192.168.1.0/24 dns-server=192.168.1.1 gateway=192.168.1.1
/ip dns
set allow-remote-requests=yes servers=79.140.160.18,79.14.160.20
/ip firewall nat
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat out-interface=ether1 src-address=\
80.245.89.0/24
/ip route
add distance=1 gateway=80.245.89.1
/system leds
set 0 interface=wlan1


/ip route> print
Flags: X - disabled, A - active, D - dynamic,
C - connect, S - static, r - rip, b - bgp, o - ospf, m - mme,
B - blackhole, U - unreachable, P - prohibit
# DST-ADDRESS PREF-SRC GATEWAY DISTANCE
0 A S 0.0.0.0/0 80.245.89.1 1
1 ADC 80.245.89.0/24 80.245.89.17 ether1 0
2 ADC 192.168.1.0/24 192.168.1.1 bridge1 0
 
efaden
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1711
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 1:55 am
Location: New York, USA

Re: Issue with basic installation of RB951G-2HnD

Thu Jan 16, 2014 8:50 pm

ros code

/ip firewall nat
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat out-interface=ether1 src-address=\
80.245.89.0/24
Thats not right....

Get rid of the source address. Should be

ros code

/ip firewall nat
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat out-interface=ether1
Also... try ping 8.8.8.8 from the console on the mikrotik and see if it works.
 
gering7
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 2:37 pm

Re: Issue with basic installation of RB951G-2HnD

Thu Jan 16, 2014 8:56 pm

ros code

/ip firewall nat
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat out-interface=ether1 src-address=\
80.245.89.0/24
Thats not right....

Get rid of the source address. Should be

ros code

/ip firewall nat
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat out-interface=ether1
Also... try ping 8.8.8.8 from the console on the mikrotik and see if it works.
previously I had correct value, somebody told me try this value and I forgot revert it. Now did that and result is the same. Timeout when I ping 8.8.8.8 address
 
efaden
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1711
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 1:55 am
Location: New York, USA

Re: Issue with basic installation of RB951G-2HnD

Thu Jan 16, 2014 8:57 pm

ros code

/ip firewall nat
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat out-interface=ether1 src-address=\
80.245.89.0/24
Thats not right....

Get rid of the source address. Should be

ros code

/ip firewall nat
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat out-interface=ether1
Also... try ping 8.8.8.8 from the console on the mikrotik and see if it works.
previously I had correct value, somebody told me try this value and I forgot revert it. Now did that and result is the same. Timeout when I ping 8.8.8.8 address
Ping your gateway?... also your sure that it is tied to the correct mac-address?
 
gering7
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 2:37 pm

Re: Issue with basic installation of RB951G-2HnD

Thu Jan 16, 2014 9:00 pm

ros code

/ip firewall nat
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat out-interface=ether1 src-address=\
80.245.89.0/24
Thats not right....

Get rid of the source address. Should be

ros code

/ip firewall nat
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat out-interface=ether1
Also... try ping 8.8.8.8 from the console on the mikrotik and see if it works.
previously I had correct value, somebody told me try this value and I forgot revert it. Now did that and result is the same. Timeout when I ping 8.8.8.8 address
Ping your gateway?... also your sure that it is tied to the correct mac-address?
mac address is correct. I got same timeout when I ping gateway
 
plisken
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2438
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 12:24 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Issue with basic installation of RB951G-2HnD

Thu Jan 16, 2014 9:04 pm

I see that the ports stand in switch mode master port ether2
set these on disabled and try than
 
efaden
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1711
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 1:55 am
Location: New York, USA

Re: Issue with basic installation of RB951G-2HnD

Thu Jan 16, 2014 9:05 pm

Then one of your numbers is wrong, or something between you an the ISP. I don't see anything obviously wrong with the settings. I would double check the mac address. Also I would check to make sure the interface is actually up and negotiated properly...

You should be able to ping the gateway.

-Eric
 
efaden
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1711
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 1:55 am
Location: New York, USA

Re: Issue with basic installation of RB951G-2HnD

Thu Jan 16, 2014 9:09 pm

Then one of your numbers is wrong, or something between you an the ISP. I don't see anything obviously wrong with the settings. I would double check the mac address. Also I would check to make sure the interface is actually up and negotiated properly...

You should be able to ping the gateway.

-Eric
And to ask the obvious have you tried to reboot your CPE (modem, etc)?... sometimes that locks the mac-address and may be locked to your computer.
 
gering7
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 2:37 pm

Re: Issue with basic installation of RB951G-2HnD

Fri Jan 17, 2014 1:26 am

Then one of your numbers is wrong, or something between you an the ISP. I don't see anything obviously wrong with the settings. I would double check the mac address. Also I would check to make sure the interface is actually up and negotiated properly...

You should be able to ping the gateway.

-Eric
And to ask the obvious have you tried to reboot your CPE (modem, etc)?... sometimes that locks the mac-address and may be locked to your computer.
I don't have any CPE just wan cable from my ISP. I've checked all settings one more time and mac address too: I plugged wan cable directly to the laptop, set mac address on laptop same as mac of ether1 on mikrotik and set all ip configs same as in mikrotik. In that case everything is working fine.
May be something wrong on hardware level?
 
efaden
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1711
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 1:55 am
Location: New York, USA

Re: Issue with basic installation of RB951G-2HnD

Fri Jan 17, 2014 1:33 am

Make sure the port is negotiating correctly.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
 
gering7
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 2:37 pm

Re: Issue with basic installation of RB951G-2HnD

Fri Jan 17, 2014 1:55 am

Make sure the port is negotiating correctly.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
What do you mean?
 
efaden
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1711
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 1:55 am
Location: New York, USA

Re: Issue with basic installation of RB951G-2HnD

Fri Jan 17, 2014 4:14 am

Make sure the port is negotiating correctly.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
What do you mean?
If the Mikrotik is trying to use 100 Mbps duplex that the device is also using the same thing. Sometimes autonegotiation gets messed up.

-Eric
 
deejayq
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 8:33 am

Re: Issue with basic installation of RB951G-2HnD

Fri Jan 17, 2014 12:21 pm

have you tried pinging the gateway from the routerboard and using interface ether1? does it work?
another thing is that maybe your ISP does not allow routers, i read somewhere that it has something to do with the ttl of the packets.
one solution would be to modify the ttl but i don't have an example, if i find one i'll post it
here:http://www.noktec.be/archives/632 something like this
 
gering7
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 2:37 pm

Re: Issue with basic installation of RB951G-2HnD

Sun Jan 19, 2014 11:53 am

Make sure the port is negotiating correctly.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
What do you mean?
If the Mikrotik is trying to use 100 Mbps duplex that the device is also using the same thing. Sometimes autonegotiation gets messed up.

-Eric
I've manualy configured these values on mikrotik and laptop. Result is the same
have you tried pinging the gateway from the routerboard and using interface ether1? does it work?
another thing is that maybe your ISP does not allow routers, i read somewhere that it has something to do with the ttl of the packets.
one solution would be to modify the ttl but i don't have an example, if i find one i'll post it
here:http://www.noktec.be/archives/632 something like this
ISP allow routers in network. Previously I used D-link router.

Today I will check my Mikrotik in network of my friends. May be it will work there
 
plisken
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2438
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 12:24 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: Issue with basic installation of RB951G-2HnD

Sun Jan 19, 2014 12:43 pm

Good luck
 
gering7
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 2:37 pm

Re: Issue with basic installation of RB951G-2HnD

Sun Jan 19, 2014 6:45 pm

So, today I checked my mikrotik in my friends network. They are using same ISP but another subnet. I used all theirs configs and theirs mac for ether1 aswell. And it worked. Everything was fine. I came back at home and used my configs and again got timeout.
At least I know that issue is not in hardware. But I have no idea why it's not working. I checked configs and mac twice. Configs are working on my laptop.
 
gering7
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Sat Jan 11, 2014 2:37 pm

Re: Issue with basic installation of RB951G-2HnD

Sun Jan 19, 2014 8:17 pm

At least issue is fixed. Again I called to ISP support and they found issue on theirs part. So, everything is working fine now. Thanks everybody for help
 
efaden
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1711
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 1:55 am
Location: New York, USA

Re: Issue with basic installation of RB951G-2HnD

Sun Jan 19, 2014 8:45 pm

OK. I thought I was going nuts because I didn't see anything wrong with your configuration. Glad it's working.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jacuinde, MSN [Bot], solar77 and 33 guests