Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
suphawk
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 7:47 pm

rb2011 strange internittent issue

Fri Jan 17, 2014 5:40 am

I have setup a rb2011 with a isp modem on ether7 and lan on ether5. Masquerade nats in place. If I connect a pc directly to ether5 I have full access out and it all works.

If I connect a netgear switch to ether5 and connect the pc to the switch I can access web pages but sites that have data uploads won't work. For example speedtest.net the download test works in both cases but the upload test fails when connected to the switch. Also a git clone from github will get only so far then timeout.

Anyone have any ideas what could be happening?
 
deejayq
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 195
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 8:33 am

Re: rb2011 strange internittent issue

Fri Jan 17, 2014 12:34 pm

maybe there is a problem with link speed negotiation between the router and the switch
think of a test to prove that true or false and do it
 
suphawk
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 7:47 pm

Re: rb2011 strange internittent issue

Fri Jan 17, 2014 6:07 pm

I've double checked the switch and the mikrotik are sync'd at 1000M /full duplex. Also I wouldn't think a mismatch would allow most web access to work but interfere with post/upload data.

I didn't have this problem before I upgraded from V6.0 RC1 to now V6.7 . I have the same config but now seeing this strange symptom.

Here is my /export...

# jan/16/2014 15:29:08 by RouterOS 6.7
# software id = L5VQ-YCPF
#
/interface ethernet
set [ find default-name=ether5 ] l2mtu=4074 speed=1Gbps
set [ find default-name=sfp1 ] name=sfp1-gateway
set [ find default-name=ether6 ] name=wan1
set [ find default-name=ether7 ] name=wan2
set [ find default-name=ether8 ] name=wan3
/interface wireless
set [ find default-name=wlan1 ] band=2ghz-b/g/n channel-width=20/40mhz-ht-above distance=indoors l2mtu=2290 mode=ap-bridge
/ip neighbor discovery
set ether1 discover=no
set sfp1-gateway discover=no
/ip hotspot user profile
set [ find default=yes ] idle-timeout=none keepalive-timeout=2m mac-cookie-timeout=3d
/ip ipsec proposal
set [ find default=yes ] enc-algorithms=3des
/ipv6 dhcp-server
add address-pool=pool1 interface=ether5 name=server1
/port
set 0 name=serial0
/system logging action
set 0 memory-lines=100
set 1 disk-lines-per-file=100
/interface bridge port
add disabled=yes interface=wlan1
/ip address
add address=172.16.0.1/16 interface=ether5 network=172.16.0.0
/ip dhcp-client
add comment="default configuration" dhcp-options=hostname,clientid disabled=no interface=sfp1-gateway
add comment="default configuration" dhcp-options=hostname,clientid disabled=no interface=ether1
add default-route-distance=0 dhcp-options=hostname,clientid disabled=no interface=wan1
add default-route-distance=0 dhcp-options=hostname,clientid disabled=no interface=wan2
add default-route-distance=0 dhcp-options=hostname,clientid disabled=no interface=wan3
/ip dns
set allow-remote-requests=yes
/ip firewall filter
add chain=input comment="default configuration" protocol=icmp
add chain=input comment="default configuration" connection-state=established
add chain=input comment="default configuration" connection-state=related
/ip firewall mangle
add chain=prerouting dst-address=192.168.15.0/24
add chain=prerouting dst-address=192.168.16.0/24
add chain=prerouting dst-address=192.168.17.0/24
add action=mark-connection chain=prerouting connection-mark=no-mark dst-address-type=!local in-interface=ether5 \
new-connection-mark=wan1 per-connection-classifier=both-addresses:3/0
add action=mark-connection chain=prerouting connection-mark=no-mark dst-address-type=!local in-interface=ether5 \
new-connection-mark=wan2 per-connection-classifier=both-addresses:3/1
add action=mark-connection chain=prerouting connection-mark=no-mark dst-address-type=!local in-interface=ether5 \
new-connection-mark=wan3 per-connection-classifier=both-addresses:3/2
add action=mark-routing chain=prerouting connection-mark=wan1 in-interface=ether5 new-routing-mark=wan1-mark
add action=mark-routing chain=prerouting connection-mark=wan2 in-interface=ether5 new-routing-mark=wan2-mark
add action=mark-routing chain=prerouting connection-mark=wan3 in-interface=ether5 new-routing-mark=wan3-mark
add action=mark-routing chain=output connection-mark=wan1 new-routing-mark=wan1-mark
add action=mark-routing chain=output connection-mark=wan2 new-routing-mark=wan2-mark
add action=mark-routing chain=output connection-mark=wan3 new-routing-mark=wan3-mark passthrough=no
add action=mark-connection chain=prerouting connection-mark=no-mark in-interface=wan1 new-connection-mark=wan1
add action=mark-connection chain=prerouting connection-mark=no-mark in-interface=wan2 new-connection-mark=wan2
add action=mark-connection chain=prerouting connection-mark=no-mark in-interface=wan3 new-connection-mark=wan3 passthrough=\
no
/ip firewall nat
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat comment="default configuration" disabled=yes out-interface=sfp1-gateway
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat out-interface=wan2
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat out-interface=wan3
add action=masquerade chain=srcnat out-interface=wan1 to-addresses=0.0.0.0
/ip proxy
set parent-proxy=0.0.0.0
/ip route
add check-gateway=ping distance=1 gateway=192.168.15.1 routing-mark=wan1-mark
add check-gateway=ping distance=1 gateway=192.168.16.1 routing-mark=wan2-mark
add check-gateway=ping distance=1 gateway=192.168.17.1 routing-mark=wan3-mark
/ip service
set telnet disabled=yes
set ftp disabled=yes
set api disabled=yes
set winbox disabled=yes
/ipv6 address
add address=fdc0:9aff:8642:1de8::1 disabled=yes interface=ether5
/ipv6 nd
set [ find default=yes ] disabled=yes
add interface=ether5 ra-lifetime=none
/lcd interface
set sfp1-gateway interface=sfp1-gateway
set ether1 interface=ether1
set ether2 interface=ether2
set ether3 interface=ether3
set ether4 interface=ether4
set ether5 interface=ether5
set wan1 interface=wan1
set wan2 interface=wan2
set wan3 interface=wan3
set ether9 interface=ether9
set ether10 interface=ether10
set wlan1 interface=wlan1
/lcd interface pages
set 0 interfaces=sfp1-gateway,ether1,ether2,ether3,ether4,ether5,wan1,wan2,wan3,ether9,ether10,wlan1
/system clock
set time-zone-name=America/Chicago
/system ntp client
set enabled=yes primary-ntp=66.233.127.14
/system ntp server
set enabled=yes
/tool mac-server
set [ find default=yes ] disabled=yes
add
add interface=ether2
add interface=ether3
add interface=ether4
add interface=ether5
add interface=wan1
add interface=wan2
add interface=wan3
add interface=ether9
add interface=wlan1
/tool mac-server mac-winbox
set [ find default=yes ] disabled=yes
add
add interface=ether2
add interface=ether3
add interface=ether4
add interface=ether5
add interface=wan1
add interface=wan2
add interface=wan3
add interface=ether9
add interface=wlan1

This setup is used to load balance between wan1/wan2/wan3. Although I'm currently only using wan3. As I said this worked with the previous version 6.0RC1.
 
suphawk
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 7:47 pm

Re: rb2011 strange internittent issue

Fri Jan 17, 2014 6:48 pm

I don't understand why when I connect the test PC directly to the RB2011 the post/upload (speedtest.net) works. But when going through a switch it doesn't. I've checked the netgear switch settings and turned off anything and everything, so it's shouldn't be doing any management.
 
suphawk
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 7:47 pm

Re: rb2011 strange internittent issue

Fri Jan 17, 2014 9:06 pm

Sorry for the noise , it was a Netgear firmware issue somehow causing the trouble.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 70 guests