Community discussions

MikroTik App

DragonBluntZ
just joined
Topic Author

PPPOE Client Connection Keeps uploading data.

Mon Jan 20, 2014 4:46 pm

Hello I am new to Mikrotik and Routerboard, I recently purchased an RB2011UiAS-IN around 2 months ago, my setup was working fine as of about 3 days ago, I noticed browsing the internet was very slow, a regular speed test would give me 15.50 down and 7 upload, all of a sudden I'm getting about 1.50 download and 0.40 upload. i noticed on the screen of the RB2011UiAS-IN that it was basically using all my upload speed to upload someting and download speed. I then disconnected the asus router and any other devices just leaving the pppoe on and still the same thing, I factory reset the device, upgraded to the latest firmware still nothing, I was using NAT masquerading, I even set up NAT manually, and even used no NAT, still nothing, basically right now its using a constant 2.5 upload but my download is fine.

When creating a pppoe connection from my laptop or directly from my asus, everything is normal and I do not have this unkown traffic.

I purchased the mikrotik to do my routing for my /30subnet I still use my asus ac66u for my entire personal home network which runs my wifi/wireless security camera's and my media server.

Does anyone know what could cause this?

mattamondo
just joined

Re: PPPOE Client Connection Keeps uploading data.

Wed Jan 22, 2014 2:35 am

Hi,

I have a similar problem on a rb750. I noticed all my upload bandwidth was being hammered. I ran torch on my ppoe out interface and found way too many requests on dns into the router and it was killing it, I put a rule in place to block all dns requests into the router and it stopped instantly.

I wish that was my problem solved. I still have no upload bandwidth, I was getting 3-4 mb when i first installed now 0.46mb .