Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
cutedrummerboy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 137
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 6:32 pm

please give me some idea

Tue Mar 18, 2014 12:37 pm

i have an internet connection and a community network connection at my home. internet connection is masquerade but the other connection is not masquerade, it is simply routed. now i use two router one for internet connection and another for that community network. i just got an RB750GL and want to replace that two old router. how it is possible? i do not want to share my internet over that community network.


this is my current setup:

both are TP-Link wr740n v4.23 router with OpenWRT 12.09 and wi-fi is switched off. I only use them for routing purpose. I have other gears for wireless set up.

my home network is 172.18.3.0/27

1. router A WAN port have a single IP of network A which have internet and it is masquerade. gateway provided by my ISP
2. router A LAN port have 172.18.3.1/27
3. router A have a static route at LAN side for network 172.18.0.0/16, gateway is the router B LAN IP

4. router B WAN port have a single IP of network B which don't have internet access and not masquerade. there is no gateway
5. router B LAN port have 172.18.3.30/27
6. router B have a static route at WAN side for network 172.18.0.0/16, gateway is the next router of network B
Device: RB2011UIAS-RM, RB750GL, CISCO SG300-28, UNIFI UAP-LR
 
log
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 105
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 11:37 am

Re: please give me some idea

Tue Mar 18, 2014 1:46 pm

You can make two "routers" on rb750 so it will be work like now.
 
efaden
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1711
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 1:55 am
Location: New York, USA

Re: please give me some idea

Tue Mar 18, 2014 4:16 pm

i have an internet connection and a community network connection at my home. internet connection is masquerade but the other connection is not masquerade, it is simply routed. now i use two router one for internet connection and another for that community network. i just got an RB750GL and want to replace that two old router. how it is possible? i do not want to share my internet over that community network.


this is my current setup:

both are TP-Link wr740n v4.23 router with OpenWRT 12.09 and wi-fi is switched off. I only use them for routing purpose. I have other gears for wireless set up.

my home network is 172.18.3.0/27

1. router A WAN port have a single IP of network A which have internet and it is masquerade. gateway provided by my ISP
2. router A LAN port have 172.18.3.1/27
3. router A have a static route at LAN side for network 172.18.0.0/16, gateway is the router B LAN IP

4. router B WAN port have a single IP of network B which don't have internet access and not masquerade. there is no gateway
5. router B LAN port have 172.18.3.30/27
6. router B have a static route at WAN side for network 172.18.0.0/16, gateway is the next router of network B

Completely doable. You just need to configure your firewall rules properly. What does the "community" network do?
 
cutedrummerboy
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 137
Joined: Thu Nov 14, 2013 6:32 pm

Re: please give me some idea

Wed Mar 19, 2014 3:13 am

efaden, that community network don't have internet but have some ftp server, some game server and a VoIP server. In my country hi speed internet is costly so I and couple of my friends build that network which is runs over point to point WiFi link.


can you elaborate me firewall rules for my setup??
Device: RB2011UIAS-RM, RB750GL, CISCO SG300-28, UNIFI UAP-LR
 
efaden
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1711
Joined: Sat Mar 30, 2013 1:55 am
Location: New York, USA

Re: please give me some idea

Wed Mar 19, 2014 3:17 am

efaden, that community network don't have internet but have some ftp server, some game server and a VoIP server. In my country hi speed internet is costly so I and couple of my friends build that network which is runs over point to point WiFi link.


can you elaborate me firewall rules for my setup??
Basically make your masq rule only masq traffic out the WAN and coming from your own internal network... Other than that just allow or block whatever you want. If you get stuck post your config and what isn't working.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: RobSav and 38 guests