Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
Clauu
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 210
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 8:27 pm
Location: RO

winbox pptp

Thu Apr 10, 2014 9:38 am

Hi, when i'm connecting through the vpn pptp connection to the router with winbox i'm having frequent disconnections(the vpn connection remain established, only winbox will report that router was disconnected), why is this happening?
Having fun with RB850Gx2, RB2011UiAS-2HnD, RB260GSP, RB751U-2HnD, CRS112, RB3011UiAS, hAP ac, cAP ac and hAP ac². More others on the way :-)
 
vgo
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2014 8:24 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: winbox pptp

Thu Apr 10, 2014 3:30 pm

IMHO It occurs because in case of pptp connection all traffic goes into the tunnel. You can try to connect again winbox to the internal address of the RB.
Sorry for bad knowledge of English and use of machine translation.
 
User avatar
rickfrey
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 610
Joined: Sun Feb 14, 2010 11:41 pm
Location: Van, Texas
Contact:

Re: winbox pptp

Thu Apr 10, 2014 4:59 pm

Usually when I have this problem, its a result of the Internet connection. What does you Internet connection between you and the router look like?
Launch your company forward with professional training!
http://rickfreyconsulting.com/product-c ... raining-2/
 
Clauu
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 210
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 8:27 pm
Location: RO

Re: winbox pptp

Thu Apr 10, 2014 6:17 pm

The internet connection its fine since the pptp link it remains established counting forward the total uptime
Having fun with RB850Gx2, RB2011UiAS-2HnD, RB260GSP, RB751U-2HnD, CRS112, RB3011UiAS, hAP ac, cAP ac and hAP ac². More others on the way :-)
 
littlebill
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 232
Joined: Sat Apr 30, 2011 3:11 am

Re: winbox pptp

Sat Apr 12, 2014 5:39 pm

what version of 6.x are you using? anything over 6.7 causes this problem
 
Clauu
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 210
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 8:27 pm
Location: RO

Re: winbox pptp

Sat Apr 12, 2014 8:34 pm

I'm on ros 6.11
Having fun with RB850Gx2, RB2011UiAS-2HnD, RB260GSP, RB751U-2HnD, CRS112, RB3011UiAS, hAP ac, cAP ac and hAP ac². More others on the way :-)
 
karabov
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 12, 2014 6:58 pm

Re: winbox pptp

Mon Apr 14, 2014 9:56 am

I'm on ros 6.11
same
 
vgo
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2014 8:24 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: winbox pptp

Mon Apr 14, 2014 10:40 am

I'll say it again: when pptp tunnel is established all traffic from your computer is routed into this tunnel.
You can do trace google.com to check it.

In this case you can ping (via tunnel) external address of your RouterBoard, but:
1. now you access to your RouterBoard from new address, configured for this pptp tunnel, and it will be a new winbox session
2. This address must be enabled for winbox session.
Sorry for bad knowledge of English and use of machine translation.
 
Clauu
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 210
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 8:27 pm
Location: RO

Re: winbox pptp

Mon Apr 14, 2014 11:43 am

Dude, when we're connecting with winbox to the router from the pptp vpn connection we have random frequent disconnections while directly from a port its ok, what part its hard to understand?
Having fun with RB850Gx2, RB2011UiAS-2HnD, RB260GSP, RB751U-2HnD, CRS112, RB3011UiAS, hAP ac, cAP ac and hAP ac². More others on the way :-)
 
vgo
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2014 8:24 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: winbox pptp

Mon Apr 14, 2014 11:49 am

Dude, when we're connecting with winbox to the router from the pptp vpn connection we have random frequent disconnections while directly from a port its ok, what part its hard to understand?
I really misunderstood you, sorry.

Today I not absolutely understand this part:
while directly from a port its ok
How you define, that the tunnel continues to work? You have parallel an intensive exchange on it or it simply isn't broken off?

By the way, I had similar problems, and they weren't associated with the pptp tunnel.
Sorry for bad knowledge of English and use of machine translation.
 
Clauu
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 210
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 8:27 pm
Location: RO

Re: winbox pptp

Mon Apr 14, 2014 1:49 pm

The pptp vpn connection remains up since in router i see the total uptime keep going forward, also ping from machine-router has 0 loss.. so the pptp connection remains established
Having fun with RB850Gx2, RB2011UiAS-2HnD, RB260GSP, RB751U-2HnD, CRS112, RB3011UiAS, hAP ac, cAP ac and hAP ac². More others on the way :-)
 
vgo
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2014 8:24 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: winbox pptp

Mon Apr 14, 2014 1:56 pm

The pptp vpn connection remains up since in router i see the total uptime keep going forward, also ping from machine-router has 0 loss.. so the pptp connection remains established
I am not sure that understood your configuration.
I build the tunnel from the computer to removed Mikrotik. The tunnel maintains very considerable interruptions in the communication, more than 10 seconds.
Thus PPTP session proceeds, though no packages pass.
Winbox session, of course, during this time breaks.
Sorry for bad knowledge of English and use of machine translation.
 
Clauu
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 210
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 8:27 pm
Location: RO

Re: winbox pptp

Mon Apr 14, 2014 3:20 pm

Its very hard to understand what you're saying, please use google translate or something similar
Having fun with RB850Gx2, RB2011UiAS-2HnD, RB260GSP, RB751U-2HnD, CRS112, RB3011UiAS, hAP ac, cAP ac and hAP ac². More others on the way :-)
 
vgo
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2014 8:24 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: winbox pptp

Mon Apr 14, 2014 3:44 pm

I use "the same similar".

Ok, google and short phrases.

PPTP tunnel can withstand fairly long break in communication, 10 seconds and more.
Time counter continues counting. But at this time packets are not transmitted.
Winbox session during this period may be interrupted.
Sorry for bad knowledge of English and use of machine translation.
 
Clauu
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 210
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 8:27 pm
Location: RO

Re: winbox pptp

Mon Apr 14, 2014 4:57 pm

So you're saying that those disconnections are normal? The problem is that machine-router pptp link remains established, only winbox reports that router has beed disconnected.
Having fun with RB850Gx2, RB2011UiAS-2HnD, RB260GSP, RB751U-2HnD, CRS112, RB3011UiAS, hAP ac, cAP ac and hAP ac². More others on the way :-)
 
vgo
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2014 8:24 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: winbox pptp

Mon Apr 14, 2014 5:33 pm

So you're saying that those disconnections are normal? The problem is that machine-router pptp link remains established, only winbox reports that router has beed disconnected.
"machine-router pptp link remains established" not means that there was not a break in data transmission. (1)

You can do this:

1. Establish pptp tunnel between computer and router
2. Open status window of pptp tunnel
3. Phisically disconnect computer from lan
4. O! pptp stays connected, packets are transmitted (but not received, of course)
5. Wait 5-10 sec and reconnect computer. PPTP tunnel is live! And no diagnostic about this disconnection.

But there was a break in the passage of a package big enough to interrupt the winbox session.

Is it normal? It is a feature of pptp tunnel.

PS. I don't understand about 'ping between computer and router'. I say about (1).
Sorry for bad knowledge of English and use of machine translation.
 
vgo
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2014 8:24 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: winbox pptp

Mon Apr 14, 2014 6:51 pm

I'm on ros 6.11
By the way, my Mikrotik with version worked with interruptions.
5.26 was more stable.
Can you try other fw version?
Sorry for bad knowledge of English and use of machine translation.
 
Clauu
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 210
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 8:27 pm
Location: RO

Re: winbox pptp

Tue Apr 15, 2014 6:16 pm

Oh from 5.26 to 6.11 it;s a very long road :) Downgrade isn't a viable solution..
Having fun with RB850Gx2, RB2011UiAS-2HnD, RB260GSP, RB751U-2HnD, CRS112, RB3011UiAS, hAP ac, cAP ac and hAP ac². More others on the way :-)
 
vgo
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2014 8:24 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: winbox pptp

Wed Apr 16, 2014 10:07 am

Oh from 5.26 to 6.11 it;s a very long road :) Downgrade isn't a viable solution..
4.17, 5.26 and 6.11 (o! 6.12 now) are the only versions, which you can download today from official site.
I would like to get version 6.10, but it is inaccessible for downloading.

In any case yesterday I was connected to 5.26 as you - through the PPTP tunnel over internet.
The session of winbox was steady even to short breaks of communication. The tunnel, certainly, too didn't interrupt.

Also yesterday I worked with 6.11 through LAN. winbox session several times was interrupted.
Besides, at a forum I see some messages on bad work 6.11. Still it isn't enough of it to draw conclusions, but I had doubts.

Downgrade is a normal solution in many cases. I thunk 5.26 is not a downgrade, it looks as other RouterOS version. At least, some time they were developed in parallel.
Sorry for bad knowledge of English and use of machine translation.
 
axtmd
just joined
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 7:52 pm

Re: winbox pptp

Wed Apr 23, 2014 9:01 pm

HI!

I have the same problem after the upgrade from 6.7 to 6.11 or 6.12, I have 3pcs of RB750 in different location. And all 3 items have the same problem with management via Winbox or Web interface.
Description is next:
First to control internet conection: I made ping -t to my distant wan IP, all is Ok, ping is stable and delay is small
after PPTP is UP I made ping -t to one local host, all is OK, ping is stable and delay is minimal
now start winbox and try connect to my router, winbox start load session it can load 5-6KB some time 110-112 KB, and after don't have any activity.
If try connect via WEB to RB750 web page is loading very slow and does not complete some block (part of web page) is not present


Many times (50%) at the moment when Winbox try to load session ping from my PC to internal host only one packet can be lost.

I use PPTP to connect to router, if I try to connect from LAN - all is OK.

Important observation: One of my RB750 is conect to second between LAN interfaces (mean port LAN nr.3 from first is connect to LAN port to second RB750), I have connection to fisrt RB750 (v6.12) via PPTP and to first RB750 via winbox is imposible made connection, but I can connect to my second RB750 wia winbox (V6.12). In this topology my first RB750 is a gate to second LAN and is secury privat LAN. And PPTP is a connection to have management to LAN nr1 and connection to RB750 nr2 is not directly to PPTP interface but is a IP/item from LAN (I add picture and topology to good understanding)

with old version 6.7, in the same situation, I don't have any problem. In fact, at the moment, my solution will be to downgrade to 6.7 version, but at the same time 6.7 has some bugs.
If need help or capture packet via wireshark I can do it.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
vgo
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2014 8:24 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: winbox pptp

Thu Apr 24, 2014 12:06 pm

For these days I was at war with RouterBoard very much. It is very difficult to draw exact conclusions, but I can tell something.

You setup the device, you adjust it. It seems, it works.
But after some days either weeks or monthes it can unexpectedly create a serious problem.
It is necessary to throw everything and to deal with it in an emergency order.

Of course, I know Mikrotik not well, but with PIX it was much easier.
PIX - "adjusted and forgot", with Mikrotik it is impossible to me.

Routerboard badly maintains overloads. Yes, we transfer through it some gigabytes. During this time it several times rebooted on watcdog.

With the winbox interface something is wrong.
Under some conditions (which I can't precisely describe), winbox often lost connect even during the work through LAN. Whether it is necessary to be surprised, what it loses touch during the work through the tunnel?

During a device overload the winbox interface starts working absolutely badly.
Perhaps, it and is correct, but very much complicates diagnostics.

PS. RB450 with 5.26, RB750 with 6.11 and 6.12
Sorry for bad knowledge of English and use of machine translation.
 
Clauu
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 210
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 8:27 pm
Location: RO

Re: winbox pptp

Thu Apr 24, 2014 10:30 pm

'Notice: For support from Mikrotik staff, write to support@mikrotik.com - Mikrotik does not generally offer support on the forum, this is a user forum'
i have already mailed this problem, you should also too
Having fun with RB850Gx2, RB2011UiAS-2HnD, RB260GSP, RB751U-2HnD, CRS112, RB3011UiAS, hAP ac, cAP ac and hAP ac². More others on the way :-)
 
User avatar
czolo
Member
Member
Posts: 418
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2005 9:49 am
Location: Poland (Warsaw)
Contact:

Re: winbox pptp

Fri Apr 25, 2014 9:55 am

The same problem in my network.
When I try to connect through PPTP tunnel, the connection stops randomly. Sometimes I can connect with Winbox, and after a few seconds connections stops. The same situation, but connection to public IP of the same router works perfectly. Bug occurs from version higher than 6.7.
| --= Czo|_o =--
| http://wifi4eu.pl
| Innovation in WiFi
 
vgo
just joined
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2014 8:24 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: winbox pptp

Fri Apr 25, 2014 1:49 pm

'Notice: For support from Mikrotik staff, write to support@mikrotik.com - Mikrotik does not generally offer support on the forum, this is a user forum'
i have already mailed this problem, you should also too
The official address to technical support assumes the accurate description of a problem and a situation. I can't make it yet.

As for the user forum, there is a hope to receive the help from those who dealt with a similar problem. However, this hope is not really strong.
Sorry for bad knowledge of English and use of machine translation.
 
alphil
newbie
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 10:35 pm
Location: Valencia, Spain

Re: winbox pptp

Sat Apr 26, 2014 6:56 pm

Confirmed. I have the same problem.
Winbox disconnects randomly, when the connection is established through PPTP tunnel. However, the connection ssh (opened at same time) is maintained firmly.

ROS 6.12.
model: CCR1016-12G
current-firmware: 3.10
upgrade-firmware: 3.13
 
User avatar
falestiny
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 3:11 pm
Location: everywhere
Contact:

Re: winbox pptp

Sat Apr 26, 2014 9:29 pm

Hi, when i'm connecting through the vpn pptp connection to the router with winbox i'm having frequent disconnections(the vpn connection remain established, only winbox will report that router was disconnected), why is this happening?

are you using encryption with PPTP connections?
 
alphil
newbie
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 10:35 pm
Location: Valencia, Spain

Re: winbox pptp

Sat Apr 26, 2014 9:51 pm

Yes. Encoding MPPE128 stateless.

I just checked and exactly, there isn't this problem when encryption is disabled
 
User avatar
falestiny
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 3:11 pm
Location: everywhere
Contact:

Re: winbox pptp

Sat Apr 26, 2014 10:05 pm

Yes. Encoding MPPE128 stateless.

I just checked and exactly, there isn't this problem when encryption is disabled

perfect :) I guess that i deserve karma for solving your issue and finding a bug ;)
 
alphil
newbie
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 10:35 pm
Location: Valencia, Spain

Re: winbox pptp

Sat Apr 26, 2014 10:13 pm

Of course. But my problem doesn't solve. I want use encryption for PPtP connections.
:roll:
 
User avatar
falestiny
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 3:11 pm
Location: everywhere
Contact:

Re: winbox pptp

Sat Apr 26, 2014 10:27 pm

well solving such bugs are throw Mikrotik support team :(
 
Clauu
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 210
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 8:27 pm
Location: RO

Re: winbox pptp

Sun Apr 27, 2014 12:01 am

you eagle eye :) mppe128 encryption here too, i will check if disabling it would go to any changes
Having fun with RB850Gx2, RB2011UiAS-2HnD, RB260GSP, RB751U-2HnD, CRS112, RB3011UiAS, hAP ac, cAP ac and hAP ac². More others on the way :-)
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2954
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Capalbio, Tuscany, Italy

Re: winbox pptp

Sun Apr 27, 2014 4:44 am

SOMEONE HAVE READ 6.11 TOPIC?

I have already explained this problem on 25 march (and consequently how fix that).


Problem with winbox over any type of ppp (pppoe, pptp, etc.) mppe encrypted connection:
http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php ... 00#p417235

Soluction for all type of ppp (pppoe, pptp, etc.) mppe encrypted connection
http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php ... 00#p417242
I'm Italian, not English. Sorry for my imperfect grammar.
 
Clauu
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 210
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 8:27 pm
Location: RO

Re: winbox pptp

Sun Apr 27, 2014 9:20 pm

Disabling the pptp encryption isn't a fix doh
Having fun with RB850Gx2, RB2011UiAS-2HnD, RB260GSP, RB751U-2HnD, CRS112, RB3011UiAS, hAP ac, cAP ac and hAP ac². More others on the way :-)
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2954
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Capalbio, Tuscany, Italy

Re: winbox pptp

Sun Apr 27, 2014 10:19 pm

Disabling the pptp encryption isn't a fix doh
If you read better, you see: use 6.7
I'm Italian, not English. Sorry for my imperfect grammar.
 
alphil
newbie
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 10:35 pm
Location: Valencia, Spain

Re: winbox pptp

Sun Apr 27, 2014 10:47 pm

If you read better, you see: use 6.7
Better is use v6.13 where this error is corrected. :)
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2954
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Capalbio, Tuscany, Italy

Re: winbox pptp

Mon Apr 28, 2014 1:11 am

If you read better, you see: use 6.7
Better is use v6.13 where this error is corrected. :)
What version correct this error?
I'm Italian, not English. Sorry for my imperfect grammar.
 
alphil
newbie
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Nov 17, 2010 10:35 pm
Location: Valencia, Spain

Re: winbox pptp

Mon Apr 28, 2014 2:32 am

What version correct this error?
In one future. I desire that to be in next release, 6.13 for example.
 
Clauu
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 210
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2014 8:27 pm
Location: RO

Re: winbox pptp

Mon Apr 28, 2014 8:44 am

Disabling the pptp encryption isn't a fix doh
If you read better, you see: use 6.7
:shock: you don't get it, downgrading/disabling etc those things aren't a fix man they're just for the moment and the 'moment' has passed away long time ago since there are 5 releases since then without a fix for this problem
Having fun with RB850Gx2, RB2011UiAS-2HnD, RB260GSP, RB751U-2HnD, CRS112, RB3011UiAS, hAP ac, cAP ac and hAP ac². More others on the way :-)
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2954
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Capalbio, Tuscany, Italy

Re: winbox pptp

Mon Apr 28, 2014 10:29 pm

Disabling the pptp encryption isn't a fix doh
If you read better, you see: use 6.7
:shock: you don't get it, downgrading/disabling etc those things aren't a fix man they're just for the moment and the 'moment' has passed away long time ago since there are 5 releases since then without a fix for this problem
Also I am waiting for a fix, but until is not fixed, in my working environment I use 6.7 for ppoe/nat, etc and 6.12 for "distribution" (and 5.26 on CPE)
I'm Italian, not English. Sorry for my imperfect grammar.
 
User avatar
spr41178
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Apr 01, 2014 11:11 pm
Location: Rhodes - Greece

Re: winbox pptp

Mon Feb 23, 2015 8:14 pm

I am having a different problem, when i pptp client to server (two RB 750S) i log just fine to the server but i get blank pages no configuration whatsoever by either mac or ip.

If i pptp from windows dial-up i can access the server fine. Any thoughts?!
Image

When you reach the end of your rope, tie a knot and hang on.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 40 guests