Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
qwertysqwerty
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 12:43 am

Sniffer tool not working.

Wed Apr 16, 2014 10:41 pm

Hello. I'm trying to capture and view traffic on ether2. I know there is traffic TX and RX on the Ethernet interface as I have verified this with:
/interface monitor-traffic interface=ether2

    rx-packets-per-second:         7
      rx-drops-per-second:         0
     rx-errors-per-second:         0
       rx-bits-per-second:  30.8kbps
    tx-packets-per-second:         8
      tx-drops-per-second:         0
     tx-errors-per-second:         0
       tx-bits-per-second:  33.7kbps
-- [Q quit|D dump|C-z pause]
I am using the sniffer tool from WinBox, but I am not seeing anything. I have tested via the CLI using "quick mode" but again I am not seeing any traffic being displayed. The command I am using is:
/tool sniffer quick interface=ether2
And the output is simply:
INTERFACE     TIME    NUM DI SRC-MAC           DST-MAC           VLAN   SRC-ADDRESS

[admin@MTik_ZZ] /tool sniffer>
Ultimately I want to be able to view a dump in Wireshark, but I cannot as yet even dump to screen any traffic at all...

Can you explain this?

Resources:
http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:To ... Quick_mode
Last edited by qwertysqwerty on Thu Apr 17, 2014 7:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
qwertysqwerty
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 12:43 am

Re: Sniffer tool not working.

Thu Apr 17, 2014 5:24 pm

Anybody?
 
Zorro
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 676
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 2:43 pm

Re: Sniffer tool not working.

Thu Apr 17, 2014 6:20 pm

obviously you skipped reading "Manual:Tools/Packet Sniffer" part of Wiki too early.
hardly im can explain things better than Wiki, in that point, just conclude.
unconfigured and not started, yet, sniffer - will behave just like you depicted, respectively.
 
qwertysqwerty
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 12:43 am

Re: Sniffer tool not working.

Thu Apr 17, 2014 6:47 pm

obviously you skipped reading "Manual:Tools/Packet Sniffer" part of Wiki too early.
hardly im can explain things better than Wiki, in that point, just conclude.
unconfigured and not started, yet, sniffer - will behave just like you depicted, respectively.
I have no idea what you are saying. But I will try to speculate as to why I am seeing this behavior... What I did not say in my first post is that I have configured ether2 as a slave of ether3 to take advantage of the ASIC/hardware-based switching and reduce load on the CPU. So since the CPU is not handling the frames should I sniff for the traffic Tx and Rx ether2 by sniffing on ether3 and filtering to the IP of the device attached to ether2?
 
Zorro
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 676
Joined: Wed Apr 16, 2014 2:43 pm

Re: Sniffer tool not working.

Fri Apr 18, 2014 3:30 pm

check mikrotik WIki how sniffing commands/features works. ie syntax, options, modes and check some examples, both in wiki and in web/internet.
no, i din't mean that, obviously.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests