Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
4evra
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2014 12:22 pm

Placing mikrotik 750 between a main router and a main switch

Sun Jun 08, 2014 12:46 pm

first time using mikrotik,so i' having some trouble.

Got router that directs internet onto a main switch.
I want to place mikrotik between them,so i can use it as firewall to block certain sites,limit flow on some and etc.

If i connect the cable from main router to port 1 on mikrotik,and from port2 on mikrotik i connect to main switch,i can see only part of my networks computers.
That is in bridged mode.
Cant have it like that,i gotta have access to all computers due to file sharing for work.

Now,currently,i connected router cable to port 2,and switch cable to port 3,so i guess my mikrotik is acting like a switch now?
Now i indeed can see all computers on my network,but it seems that i cant block/control sites like facebook,youtube etc.
Could be due to the switch mode?

I tried blocking via content and also via layer 7.

Can someone explain to me what i'm doing wrong?

I am tech sawy,but this lvl of networking is beyond me right now.

Cheers all
 
Jaggl
just joined
Posts: 17
Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2012 3:00 pm

Re: Placing mikrotik 750 between a main router and a main sw

Tue Jun 10, 2014 10:06 am

if ur using the mikrotik with the basic mikrotik config which is on it when you buy it then yes i think...

port 1 would be the internet gateway and port 2-5 would be switched ports....

but why you are not using the mikrotik as ur main router?
Mit freundlichen Grüßen / Yours sincerely

Roland Steger
+43 (0) 664 333 7393
Kontakt [AT] Hosters.at
www.Hosters.at

EA Ranked Server Partner
Pragmatic Preferred Provider
Teamspeak Authorized Hoster
 
4evra
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2014 12:22 pm

Re: Placing mikrotik 750 between a main router and a main sw

Tue Jun 10, 2014 11:32 am

I am going to use it as main today,yesterday was messing with it and the other 'main' router,DHCP was tossing out wrong IP's and i couldnt get then in sync.
 
thuman
just joined
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 2:42 pm

Re: Placing mikrotik 750 between a main router and a main sw

Wed Jun 11, 2014 3:43 pm

Would also like to get more details about this

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 31 guests