Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
nereww
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 3:12 pm

how to logging ntp server

Tue Aug 05, 2014 3:15 pm

Hi
i have instaled ntp package and i need to logging ntp server. can anyone help. standar logging does not work for this package.

thanks
 
User avatar
jayd2k
newbie
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2013 6:46 am
Location: Philippines

Re: how to logging ntp server

Wed Aug 06, 2014 7:24 am

Hi,

note from the documentation:

NOTE: the above logging rules work only with the built-in SNTP client, the separate NTP package doesn't have any logging facilities.

In regards to the sntp client take a look at the wiki:

Background on how to configure logging http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:Sy ... figuration
Log messages explained -> http://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Time#Log_messages
By 2016 total internet traffic will be 3x 2011
 
nereww
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 3:12 pm

Re: how to logging ntp server

Thu Aug 07, 2014 3:08 pm

Hi

Yes, i saw this in documentation. So I nedd another option how to do it.
 
Rudios
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 966
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2013 12:58 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: how to logging ntp server

Fri Aug 08, 2014 10:12 am

Hi

Yes, i saw this in documentation. So I nedd another option how to do it.
If you want to use the logging functions available on the S-NTP client, uninstall the NTP package.
Go to system -> packages, select the NTP, hit uninstall and reboot.
Testing setup with: 2 x RB750UP | 2 x RB750GL | 1 x RB951G-2HnD | 1 x RB2011UiAS-IN
 
User avatar
rextended
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2954
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 12:49 pm
Location: Capalbio, Tuscany, Italy

Re: how to logging ntp server

Fri Aug 08, 2014 10:17 am

Hi

Yes, i saw this in documentation. So I nedd another option how to do it.
If you want to use the logging functions available on the S-NTP client, uninstall the NTP package.
Go to system -> packages, select the NTP, hit uninstall and reboot.
The use do not "want to use the logging functions available on the S-NTP client", want use NTP server and there is no way to logging it's operation.
I'm Italian, not English. Sorry for my imperfect grammar.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 32 guests