Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
kintho
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2014 11:05 pm

First connection to RB951G-2HnD

Mon Nov 24, 2014 11:46 pm

Hello, I'm trying to connect to a 951G RouterBoard with no success.

When I powered on the board for the first time I didn't see the wireless SSID as stated on the user guide.
I've tried to reach the router via ethernet using the DHCP or a static 192.168.88.x IP but still with no result.

I've reset the board and still no luck

What am I doing wrong?

Thank you.
 
plisken
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2433
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 12:24 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: First connection to RB951G-2HnD

Tue Nov 25, 2014 10:44 am

Use not ether1 to connect with the routerboard.
Use ether2 to ether5
Disable the firewall on your PC (not Always needed)
Use winbox
 
kintho
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2014 11:05 pm

Re: First connection to RB951G-2HnD

Tue Nov 25, 2014 4:36 pm

Hi plisken,
I've tried all of this.

The problems are:
  • I do not have any SSID from routerboard.
    I can't connect to 192.168.88.1 to any of the ethernet ports.
I've already reset the router.
 
plisken
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2433
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 12:24 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: First connection to RB951G-2HnD

Wed Nov 26, 2014 4:33 pm

Hear you one beep and later two beeps?
If not try with netinstall procedure
http://www.wirelessinfo.be/index.php/mi ... etinstalle
 
jfvelamoscoso
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2013 12:52 am
Location: Arequipa - Peru

Re: First connection to RB951G-2HnD

Thu Nov 27, 2014 7:15 pm

Could you connect the device directly to ethernet port on port 5. Then try to connect to it via winbox using the neighbor tab.
----------------------------------------
jfvelamoscoso@gmail.com
Network Engineer Noc Department
MTCNA, MTCTCE

If it helps please give some karma
 
User avatar
BartoszP
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1750
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 1:13 pm
Location: Poland

Re: First connection to RB951G-2HnD

Thu Nov 27, 2014 7:23 pm

In the Winbox 3 click Neighbour Tab, then wait a while to see if it finds your router.
If no, there is real problem...maybe you need to netinstall
If yes, click the Mac field to connect via MAC address to bypas problem of IP address conflict if your LAN card has static IP set and it is not "compatibile" with default 192.168.88.0/24.
When you click MAC field then in the upper field the MAC will be copied instead of IP, rest of the process is the same
Real admins use real keyboards.
 
plisken
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 2433
Joined: Sun May 15, 2011 12:24 am
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Re: First connection to RB951G-2HnD

Fri Nov 28, 2014 9:17 am

Is your problem solved?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 41 guests