Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
ahbutler
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2014 1:45 am

Unifi Discovery

Tue Dec 02, 2014 4:49 am

Greetings,

I have an RB2011 running 6.19 ROS. Super simple configuration with port 1 being connected to the WAN and port 2-10 connected as a bridge for local ethernet access. NAT masquerade to WAN port. I have several workstations connected to ports 2-8. I have a Ubiquiti UniFi Access point connected to port 9. When I try use the UniFi Discovery
tool to find the AP, it always fails to discover anything. It is using L2 multicast/broadcast for discovery. However, if
I connect the AP and the one workstation with the discovery tool to a generic Netgear switch the discovery tool finds the AP without difficulty. So, is there something I need to do to allow this discovery traffic to transition across the switch?

Thank you,

Aaron
 
User avatar
lyberis1979
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2014 2:43 am
Location: Athens, Greece
Contact:

Re: Unifi Discovery

Tue Dec 02, 2014 9:39 am

Good Morning,

Im using also UBNT as access point in work and home environment, have you tried to remove the controller and re-installing it. The other thing with UBNT is the adopting o network, try to reset the AP then connect it to your Network through an other Lan port on your MK.


Best regards.
 
User avatar
gabrielpike
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2014 4:17 pm

Re: Unifi Discovery

Tue Dec 02, 2014 9:50 pm

Hello,

My way of doing this is to create a static DNS entry for unifi pointing to my controller IP address. That way when the unifi try to dial home they get pointed to the controller server.

/ip dns static
add address=ControlerIPAddress name=unifi
Gabriel Pike
MTCNA
 
ryandenis
newbie
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2014 7:40 am

Re: Unifi Discovery

Tue Dec 09, 2014 4:05 pm

wouldn't it be easier to just option 43 for dhcp options?
 
User avatar
gabrielpike
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2014 4:17 pm

Re: Unifi Discovery

Tue Dec 09, 2014 4:26 pm

Two ways of accomplishing the same thing. I don't know that ease has anything to do with it. Probably just a matter of preference.
Gabriel Pike
MTCNA
 
jarda
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 7602
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2012 4:46 pm

Re: Unifi Discovery

Tue Dec 09, 2014 5:05 pm

Have you set proxy-arp to the bridge? It could help.
 
ebreyit
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 120
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2013 11:44 am
Location: Shropshire, United Kingdom

Re: Unifi Discovery

Thu Dec 11, 2014 5:43 pm

Hi,
Which port are you plugging the unifi into on the 2011. I've had problems with a few pieces of equipment (openreach VDSL Modems mostly) which flap on the gigabit ports (1-5) but are solid on the 10/100 ports (6-10).

Also have you tried making ports 2 and 6 masters for 3-5 and 7-10 respectivley, just bridging port 2 and 6, using them as switched..?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: nativcode and 73 guests