Community discussions

 
kimmy123
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 5:35 pm

Connect a Tenda Router to a ROS v5

Sun Dec 14, 2014 2:49 pm

Hi Guys

I have a wireless router from Tenda (W309R) that connects to a RB on ether3
I would like the RB to give the devices IP addresses instead of the Tenda itself.
I disabled DHCP on the Tenda.

On the WAN side for the Tenda has the option of DHCP ( which I selected) , static IP,PPTP and L2TP.

Please let me know if I will be able to do this.

Thanks
Kimmy
 
SystemErrorMessage
Member
Member
Posts: 378
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2012 9:04 pm

Re: Connect a Tenda Router to a ROS v5

Sun Dec 14, 2014 4:55 pm

I think you are doing this the wrong way. You should either bridge the WAN on the tenda if you only have 1 port or connect using a LAN port. Are you trying to prevent the clients communicating with the RB directly or not? The questions that are asjed recently all seem to be getting poorly structured
 
kimmy123
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 5:35 pm

Re: Connect a Tenda Router to a ROS v5

Sun Dec 14, 2014 5:06 pm

I think you are doing this the wrong way. You should either bridge the WAN on the tenda if you only have 1 port or connect using a LAN port. Are you trying to prevent the clients communicating with the RB directly or not? The questions that are asjed recently all seem to be getting poorly structured
I apologise for not asking it clearly.
What I want is for my Tenda to act like a Layer 2 device and the RB to issue IPs via DHCP.

Please explain how I would bridge the WAN ?
 
kimmy123
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 5:35 pm

Re: Connect a Tenda Router to a ROS v5

Sun Dec 14, 2014 5:25 pm

screen shot from my Tenda WAN options.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
Bonz123
just joined
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 8:26 pm
Location: LV

Re: Connect a Tenda Router to a ROS v5

Sun Dec 14, 2014 6:13 pm

just turn off dhcp server http://www.microcentertech.com/tech_cen ... 00241B.htm
and ip adresses it start's take from mikrotik.
 
bingo220
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 124
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2013 9:30 pm
Location: Ukraine

Re: Connect a Tenda Router to a ROS v5

Sun Dec 14, 2014 7:15 pm

I think you need to disable DHCP-server on the Tenda LAN-setup. Then setup Tenda LAN ip-address as dhcp-client. Next step - connect Mikrotik-ether3 to LAN-port of Tenda.
I'll repeat again, don't use the WAN port of Tenda. Use LAN-port.
 
kimmy123
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 5:35 pm

Re: Connect a Tenda Router to a ROS v5

Sun Dec 14, 2014 7:58 pm

Thank you guys
Turning off dhcp and connecting to Lan port sorted out the issue.

Thanks again.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 37 guests