Community discussions

MikroTik App

psyskeletor
just joined
Topic Author

Problem with initial config: openvpn, bridge and so on

Sun Feb 22, 2015 11:31 pm

Hi guys.

I am a guy coming from PfSense to RouterOS and while i am not a newbie sysadmin, routerOS seems very hard for me.
I bought a RB2100iL which has 2 switches: 5 x Gb && 5 x Ethernet.
I am triying to get used to it but it seems there is a lot of things that simply, i dont understand.

Bridging
I dont know why, but the connection between the Gb ports, where it is the main gateway, and the lan ports are connected using by default a bridge. Why????? I tried to simply delete the bridge and config everything and i always did on pfsense and i lost connection with the router.
As i did alway in my pfsense boxes with a bunch of network adaptors, only bridging if you want to "bridge" networks. But mainly you should do routing between the network interfaces. I dont understand why the lan ports are by default bridged to the gigabit ports.

Outbound openvpn

I am triying to connect to my remote vpn server using the 1194 udp and it simply doesnt work. From another network (using a 3g modem) it works. I accesed the running server and the port is open.
I also tried to connect to the management panel of my softether which use the 443 and it simpy doesnt connect.
Accessing a regular website using 443 work, so i dont know.

I really dont know how to deal with this RouterOS but after a weekend i am really considering that maybe is to much effort to deploy this machines instead my pfsense in my clients.

Thanks for your effors guys:

sergejs
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support

Re: Problem with initial config: openvpn, bridge and so on

Mon Feb 23, 2015 5:05 pm

Bridging