Community discussions

MUM Europe 2020
 
jeremyh
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2012 1:21 pm

Multiple networks routing issue

Wed Apr 08, 2015 8:34 am

Hi,

I have a problem routing between two networks on my RB1100 that I can't figure out.

On my RB1100 I have a 192.168.1.0/24 network and hosts.

I also have, separately, a device (an IP phone controller) which runs a DHCP server for the IP phones on the 192.168.42.0/24 network. Its web management is accessible from this network at http://192.168.42.1.

I would like to connect the IP phone controller to a port on the RB1100 such that I can access its UI at http://192.168.42.1 from any host on the 192.168.1.0/24 network.

To do this, I freed up a port from the RB1100's bridged port, and added a dhcp-client to it. It gets an address:
 9 D 192.168.42.86/24   192.168.42.0    ether1-phone-controller   
And a route is dynamically added:
29 ADC  192.168.42.0/24    192.168.42.86   ether1-phone-controller              0
And I can ping it from the RB1100:
[admin@RB1100] > ping 192.168.42.1
HOST                                     SIZE TTL TIME  STATUS                   
192.168.42.1                               56  99 0ms  
..But, I cannot reach 192.168.42.1 from any 192.168.1.0/24 host.

Any idea what I am doing wrong here?

Many thanks!
 
fallenwrx
newbie
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 10:59 am

Re: Multiple networks routing issue

Wed Apr 08, 2015 10:51 am

you need to add an additional route from the 192.168.1.0/24 network to be able to access the 192.168.42.0/24 network
 
jeremyh
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2012 1:21 pm

Re: Multiple networks routing issue

Wed Apr 08, 2015 10:57 am

Hey fallenwrx,

Would you mind explaining what route I need to add?

Adding:
/ip route add dst-address=192.168.42.0/24 gateway=ether1-phone-controller
doesn't work.

Thanks!
 
fallenwrx
newbie
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 10:59 am

Re: Multiple networks routing issue

Wed Apr 08, 2015 12:16 pm

add
/ip route add dst-address=192.168.42.0/24 gateway=192.168.1.1

if that doesnt work please post entire configuration for clarity.

Thanks
 
User avatar
ZeroByte
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4051
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 6:08 pm

Re: Multiple networks routing issue

Wed Apr 08, 2015 4:34 pm

The devices on your 192.168.1.0 network, are they using the 1100 as their default GW (192.168.1.1)?
If so, then you're not going to need to add any static routes.

It sounds like it's the voip server which needs a static route added - if it's a DHCP server, and it is 192.168.42.1 - it sounds like this device wants to be a default GW for devices attached to it....

You need to make the Mikrotik have a static IP address on the 42 network (e.g. 192.168.42.254)
You need to configure the voice gateway to use the Mikrotik as either a default GW, or else a specific gateway to reach 192.168.1.0/24

If there are no other networks attached to the voice server, then simply set its default GW to be 192.168.42.254
If it has its own inernet connection, then you need to add a static route with destination 192.168.1.0/24 (mask = 255.255.255.0 if it uses that notation) and gateway (next hop) = 192.168.42.254

Finally, make sure the Mikrotik has no rules that would block traffic between these networks, and also make sure that none of your NAT rules will match this traffic either.

That should be everything. (assuming I'm right about the voice gw wanting to be a router)
When given a spoon,
you should not cling to your fork.
The soup will get cold.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 23 guests