Community discussions

 
dipdip
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 12:28 pm

Public IPs on network with OSPF

Thu Aug 09, 2018 10:43 pm

Hi,
I want to assign a public IP address to each of my towers and later on also public IP's to each of my clients.
I use pppoe for my clients with an IP pool on each tower e.g. pppoe on tower 192.168.0.11 is in the 10.0.0.0./24 range, tower 192.168.0.12 pppoe range is 10.0.1.0/24 etc.

My 1st tower got a public IP e.g. 41.1.1.1/24 on eth1 and the 41.1.1.0/24 range assigned to it and I want to use this range for my towers. Later I will get additional ranges e.g. 41.85.1.0/24 for the clients pppoe connections on each tower (of course 1st AP tower pppoe range 41.85.1.0/24, 2nd AP tower pppoe range 41.85.2.0/24 etc).
From eth2 (172.17.1.1/24) I got a wifi link to my 2nd tower(172.17.1.2/24 on eth1)
From second tower, I connect eth2 on 192.168.0.10/24 to 6 towers in the 192.168.0.0/24 range. Thus 192.168.0.11 - 16. (on eth1 of each tower and the pppoe on eth2 on each tower going to sectors)

I masquerade on my 1st and 2nd tower between the ranges and on the client connect towers between the pppoe ip ranges and the 192.168.0.0/24 range.
When a tower checks whatismyip.com it must show the tower public IP.

From what I have read, OSPF is the best way of doing this.
Can I keep my private IP addresses as is and just add public IPs to the same interfaces?
Must I disable the masquerading?

How do I do OSPF on a network like this?
Thanks, any help will be greatly appreciated.
 
User avatar
IPANetEngineer
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 963
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 6:46 am
Location: Jackson, MS, USA
Contact:

Re: Public IPs on network with OSPF

Fri Aug 10, 2018 12:51 am

If you want a single public IP on each tower, the easiest thing to do is create a loopback using a public IP and then advertise it in OSPF. That way you can keep using non-public IPs for the subnets that connect the towers.

Even though this presentation I did is on OSPF troubleshooting, you can see the design using public loopbacks in this drawing.

https://mum.mikrotik.com/presentations/ ... 892575.pdf

Image
Global - MikroTik Support & Consulting - English | Francais | Español | Portuguese +1 855-645-7684
https://iparchitechs.com/services/mikro ... l-support/ mikrotiksupport@iparchitechs.com
 
dipdip
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 12:28 pm

Re: Public IPs on network with OSPF

Sat Aug 11, 2018 8:39 pm

Thanks,

I would rather still use private IP's on the tower loopbacks, that way if public IP's change for whatever reason, the impact would be minimal.

My question is still:
Can I keep the private IP addresses on the interfaces as is and just add public IPs to the same interfaces?
If I can put a private and a public IP on an interface, do I add both network ranges to the OSPF - Network ?
Must I disable the masquerading?

Thanks
 
p3rad0x
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 585
Joined: Fri Sep 18, 2015 5:42 pm
Location: South Africa
Contact:

Re: Public IPs on network with OSPF

Wed Aug 15, 2018 2:11 pm

If you dont have a lot of towers, a shortcut could be to add all the ips on your edge and create src nat rules for each tower.

But I recommend planing for the future.

Advertise your local loopbacks on ospf and your private IP's and use BGP for all the public IP's.

Then later when you get more address space you can redistribute connected for the ppoe's
There you go then you touched something ;-) : it only takes a change in wind direction to screw with your nat :-)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests