Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
src386
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2015 1:18 pm

[SOLVED] VRRP with VLAN ?

Thu Dec 17, 2015 12:06 pm

Hi everyone,

I have two routers, R1 and R2.
I use VRRP for failover, if R1 goes offline, hosts will use R2 as a gateway.

But I have VLANs :

Image

I tried to set VRRP on ether1 interface then add VLANS vIP, but this vIP is unreachable from network :

R1
/interface vrrp add interface=ether1 vrid=172 priority=255
/ip address add address=172.16.90.254/32 interface=vrrp1
R2
/interface vrrp add interface=ether1 vrid=172 priority=100
/ip address add address=172.16.90.254/32 interface=vrrp1
VRRP seems to work, because it has "RM" state on R1 and "B" on R2, and the vIP is up on R1 and down on R2.

However, R2 cannot ping the vIP 172.16.90.254 on R1. A host on the network cannot reach the vIP either.

How can I use VRRP with VLAN ?
Last edited by src386 on Thu Dec 17, 2015 12:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
src386
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Dec 08, 2015 1:18 pm

Re: VRRP with VLAN ?

Thu Dec 17, 2015 12:49 pm

Answering to myself : this is incredibly obivous.
Just create separate VRRP interfaces on VLAN, not on ether1.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 50 guests