Community discussions

 
mankomal
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 8:56 am

OSPF default route

Thu Mar 17, 2016 7:25 am

Hello

We are trying to set OSPF in our network for backbone, on the edge router we had enabled option REDISTRIBUTE DEFAULT as always(type 1) in all remote routers we can see this route coming in ospf routing route print , but when we do ip route print the route is not reflecting there. What could be the problem?
please see:
Image
 
User avatar
ZeroByte
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 4051
Joined: Wed May 11, 2011 6:08 pm

Re: OSPF default route

Tue Apr 12, 2016 3:02 am

when we do ip route print the route is not reflecting there.
Is the screenshot taken from the router that is actually originating the default GW into OSPF, or is it a neighboring router?
If it's the originating router, then you need to use a static default GW for that router itself. Basically, it tells OTHER ospf routers to use it as the default GW, but once packets arrive at the originating router, it needs to use some other means to determine the ACTUAL default GW.
When given a spoon,
you should not cling to your fork.
The soup will get cold.
 
scampbell
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 457
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 5:20 am
Location: Wellington, NZ
Contact:

Re: OSPF default route

Tue Apr 12, 2016 8:22 am

Assuming this router is running OSPF it is strange there are no known OSPF routes at all in the routing table ? They should show with a flag of "o" ?

Perhaps "/route ospf export" and "/ip add pr" from the router with the default route and the one wishing to receive it please. :-)
MTCNA, MTCWE, MTCRE, MTCTCE, MTCSE, MTCINE, Trainer
___________________
Mikrotik Distributor - New Zealand
http://www.campbell.co.nz
 
mankomal
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri Nov 24, 2006 8:56 am

Re: OSPF default route

Mon May 09, 2016 6:43 am

Well I found the problem it was related to a third party firewall in the network which was causing some issues and its now resolved. Apparently it was blocking all traffic to Port 89, as soon as I had put an exception everything started working normally
 
scampbell
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 457
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 5:20 am
Location: Wellington, NZ
Contact:

Re: OSPF default route

Fri Sep 02, 2016 6:51 am

Well I found the problem it was related to a third party firewall in the network which was causing some issues and its now resolved. Apparently it was blocking all traffic to Port 89, as soon as I had put an exception everything started working normally
That'll do it :lol:
MTCNA, MTCWE, MTCRE, MTCTCE, MTCSE, MTCINE, Trainer
___________________
Mikrotik Distributor - New Zealand
http://www.campbell.co.nz

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests