Page 1 of 1

OSPF default route

Posted: Thu Mar 17, 2016 7:25 am
by mankomal
Hello

We are trying to set OSPF in our network for backbone, on the edge router we had enabled option REDISTRIBUTE DEFAULT as always(type 1) in all remote routers we can see this route coming in ospf routing route print , but when we do ip route print the route is not reflecting there. What could be the problem?
please see:
Image

Re: OSPF default route

Posted: Tue Apr 12, 2016 3:02 am
by ZeroByte
when we do ip route print the route is not reflecting there.
Is the screenshot taken from the router that is actually originating the default GW into OSPF, or is it a neighboring router?
If it's the originating router, then you need to use a static default GW for that router itself. Basically, it tells OTHER ospf routers to use it as the default GW, but once packets arrive at the originating router, it needs to use some other means to determine the ACTUAL default GW.

Re: OSPF default route

Posted: Tue Apr 12, 2016 8:22 am
by scampbell
Assuming this router is running OSPF it is strange there are no known OSPF routes at all in the routing table ? They should show with a flag of "o" ?

Perhaps "/route ospf export" and "/ip add pr" from the router with the default route and the one wishing to receive it please. :-)

Re: OSPF default route

Posted: Mon May 09, 2016 6:43 am
by mankomal
Well I found the problem it was related to a third party firewall in the network which was causing some issues and its now resolved. Apparently it was blocking all traffic to Port 89, as soon as I had put an exception everything started working normally

Re: OSPF default route

Posted: Fri Sep 02, 2016 6:51 am
by scampbell
Well I found the problem it was related to a third party firewall in the network which was causing some issues and its now resolved. Apparently it was blocking all traffic to Port 89, as soon as I had put an exception everything started working normally
That'll do it :lol: