Community discussions

 
User avatar
Splash
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2015 10:09 am
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa

VRF Interface Limit

Wed Sep 21, 2016 11:43 am

It seems the limit imposed by Mikrotik for the number of interfaces which can be added to a VRF is set to 30. Through winbox, one is only able to add 30 interfaces before the interface stops allowing you to add more. This limit seems not to exist on the CLI as one can easy exceed this limit, however it seems things do not work as they should. When viewing the interface list in winbox when the number exceeds 30, the active interface (vlan in this case) is displayed in red. As soon as one reduces the number of interfaces to a total of 30, the active interface turns black.

Initial reports from Mikrotik Support suggest that you can have up to 125 interfaces attached to a VRF, however this doesn't seem to be the case.

I would prefer not to implement a device per customer when they have more than 30 GRE tunnels terminating in to their VRF...
MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE, MTCTCE, MTCIPv6E, MTCUME
 
User avatar
nz_monkey
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1821
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Straya
Contact:

Re: VRF Interface Limit

Wed Sep 21, 2016 12:12 pm

It sounds like this is a WinBox UI bug rather than a bug in RouterOS.

Have Mikrotik support confirmed this as a known issue ?
http://thebrotherswisp.com/ | Mikrotik MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE | Fortinet FTCNA, FCNSP, FCT | Extreme Networks ENA
 
User avatar
Splash
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2015 10:09 am
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa

Re: VRF Interface Limit

Wed Sep 21, 2016 3:22 pm

I am busy working with the Mikrotik Support, but it seems that even though you can add them on the CLI, it doesnt work.... something breaks :)
MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE, MTCTCE, MTCIPv6E, MTCUME
 
User avatar
nz_monkey
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1821
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Straya
Contact:

Re: VRF Interface Limit

Thu Sep 22, 2016 2:07 am

Great, keep us updated.

I thought I would have hit this bug by now, but when I checked we are at max 28 interfaces per VRF on a bunch of our routers, I guess we have been lucky that we terminate customer interfaces across multiple PE routers !

It is only a matter of time before we will hit the same problem as you..
http://thebrotherswisp.com/ | Mikrotik MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE | Fortinet FTCNA, FCNSP, FCT | Extreme Networks ENA
 
Hyperactif77
just joined
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 7:47 pm

Re: VRF Interface Limit

Fri Sep 23, 2016 9:31 am

We have a client with more than 50 interfaces on a vrf without problem. We use CLI for do that
 
User avatar
nz_monkey
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1821
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Straya
Contact:

Re: VRF Interface Limit

Fri Sep 23, 2016 10:13 am

Adding interfaces to a VRF from the CLI is horrific on RouterOS (Sorry guys, but it is).

There badly needs to be an append operator !
http://thebrotherswisp.com/ | Mikrotik MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE | Fortinet FTCNA, FCNSP, FCT | Extreme Networks ENA
 
User avatar
Splash
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2015 10:09 am
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa

Re: VRF Interface Limit

Fri Sep 23, 2016 3:47 pm

Adding interfaces to a VRF from the CLI is horrific on RouterOS (Sorry guys, but it is).

There badly needs to be an append operator !
Yeah! I agree. I did post a feature request and MT support provided a post with an alternative.

http://forum.mikrotik.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=112416
MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE, MTCTCE, MTCIPv6E, MTCUME
 
User avatar
Splash
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2015 10:09 am
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa

Re: VRF Interface Limit

Fri Sep 23, 2016 3:55 pm

Great, keep us updated.

I thought I would have hit this bug by now, but when I checked we are at max 28 interfaces per VRF on a bunch of our routers, I guess we have been lucky that we terminate customer interfaces across multiple PE routers !

It is only a matter of time before we will hit the same problem as you..
We have 4 devices in multiple locations that terminate the tunnels based on the best local routes available and act as fail-over for the other locations. Sort of n+4 redundancy. For this reason I provision every customers tunnel on all 4 devices, which in turn easily exceeds the limit set in winbox for example :).

The next option is to provide a dedicated router for our customers with a large number of sites so that we don't use VRFs, removing this limitation.
MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE, MTCTCE, MTCIPv6E, MTCUME
 
User avatar
Splash
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 151
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2015 10:09 am
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa

Re: VRF Interface Limit

Fri Sep 23, 2016 3:56 pm

We have a client with more than 50 interfaces on a vrf without problem. We use CLI for do that
Cool, so we could say then that 50 interfaces is still ok?

When I ran in to this issue, we had attached about 80 interfaces (not all active) and found that the active sites suddenly became isolated.
MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE, MTCTCE, MTCIPv6E, MTCUME
 
bradnz
newbie
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2018 4:34 am

Re: VRF Interface Limit

Wed Nov 21, 2018 9:58 am

Hi

Old post, but what was the final outcome of this?

Brad
 
User avatar
nz_monkey
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1821
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:53 pm
Location: Straya
Contact:

Re: VRF Interface Limit

Wed Nov 21, 2018 12:13 pm

Hi

Old post, but what was the final outcome of this?

Brad
The same as anything to do with routing in RouterOS v6, "Fixed in v7".... Since 2013 :(
http://thebrotherswisp.com/ | Mikrotik MTCNA, MTCRE, MTCINE | Fortinet FTCNA, FCNSP, FCT | Extreme Networks ENA

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests