Community discussions

 
christopherve7alb
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2013 7:15 pm

IPv4 and IPv6 on a single BGP peer

Wed Nov 15, 2017 1:07 am

Hi Guys,

Quick question: Is it possible to have IPv4 and IPv6 routes on a single BGP peer? I'm currently connecting two sites and have separate IPv4 and IPv6 peers, but it would clean up my config if I could have one peer for both protocols.

If it is possible, any idea how I'd go about configuring it? I currently have both IP and IPv6 address families selected for both peers, however, the IPv4 peer only learns about the v4 routes and the IPv6 peer only learns about the v6 routes.

Thanks in advance!
 
irghost
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 281
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2016 1:49 pm

Re: IPv4 and IPv6 on a single BGP peer

Wed Nov 15, 2017 5:14 am

[admin@A] > routing bgp peer add remote-address=10.0.0.134 remote-as=65000 address-families=ip,ipv6
u need just to enable ipv6 in BGP peer
MTCNA MTCRE MTCTCE MTCUME MTCWE MTCIPv6E MTCINE
 
christopherve7alb
newbie
Topic Author
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2013 7:15 pm

Re: IPv4 and IPv6 on a single BGP peer

Wed Nov 15, 2017 5:19 pm

Hey, Thanks for the reply.

Looks like when I have both address families enabled on my IPv4 peer, only the IPv4 routes come through, but on my IPv6 peer I missed enabling the IPv4 address family, after doing that, both V4 and V6 routes come through via the IPv6 peer.

Not sure why the IPv4 side of things is not working, but I'm happy peering over IPv6 as everything seems to be working.

Cheers!
 
User avatar
Cha0s
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 907
Joined: Tue Oct 11, 2005 4:53 pm

Re: IPv4 and IPv6 on a single BGP peer

Wed Nov 15, 2017 7:21 pm

I would be very cautious mixing IPv4 and IPv6 peers together into one session.

Zerobyte has mentioned some caveats.
viewtopic.php?p=609944#p609944
I agree with savage, though - create a peering session for IPv6 using the ISP's IPv6 address and do IPv4 peering over IPv4, and IPv6 peering over IPv6. The next-hop address can get wonky whenever BGP has to translate between the two protocols. If your ISP hasn't put a static public address range onto the WAN link, then you should get your ISP to do so, and do the IPv6 peering using those addresses.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests