Page 1 of 1

Static routing help needed

Posted: Sun Mar 25, 2018 8:24 pm
by abhijeetsamant
Hi I am a newbie in networking and having mikrotik as core router, what is the best way to route data on below secnario

Vlan 6 has ip address 172.29.29.1/30
Vlan 7 has ip address 172.30.30.1/30

Need to be able to ping 172.30.30.2 from 172.29.29.2, any suggestion would be helpful

Regards
Abhi

Re: Static routing help needed

Posted: Sun Mar 25, 2018 8:58 pm
by Sob
Check your firewall. By default, if you didn't have any, it would work (assuming 172.29.29.2/30 is connected to vlan 6 and 172.30.30.2/30 is connected to vlan 7). It's what router does, it routes anything it can. If it doesn't work, it's probably some firewall rule blocking it, or configuration mistake somewhere else.

Re: Static routing help needed

Posted: Sun Mar 25, 2018 9:18 pm
by Vooray
set corresponding gateways and masks on your 172.30.30.2 and 172.29.29.2 hosts.

Re: Static routing help needed

Posted: Tue May 01, 2018 4:24 pm
by sri2007
And you may need to check the Layer2 Switch in the middle too, i'd check if the plans are properly tagged and the port configuration is correct (between trunks & access)

Re: Static routing help needed

Posted: Sun May 13, 2018 5:59 am
by scampbell
There should be no further action on the Mikrotik needed (assuming no restrictive firewall rules). It should show two routes with flags DAC for both 172.30.30.0/30 and 172.29.29.0/30

When routing traffic your source device need a route to your destination and your destination device needs a route back to the source.

So your host on 172.29.29.2 must have a route added for 172.30.30.0/30 with gateway=172.29.29.1 - and likewise the 172.30.30.2 host must have a route to 172.29.29.0/30 with gateway=172.30.30.1