Community discussions

 
in4ni
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 187
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 4:22 am
Location: Jax, Fl USA

"Ring" Configuration

Fri Apr 13, 2018 2:19 pm

I have a client that has approx 7 locations currently using a Metro Ethernet at all locations. The setup is simple and has been working for years. Now my client has dedicated fiber between the sites in a "Ring" configuration. What is the best way to network all the sites together using only Mikrotik routers.. What is the best technique to use? they have 1 public IP network and about 5 private IP networks. im not sure and was hoping for some suggestions?


thank you
 
User avatar
IPANetEngineer
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 1053
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 6:46 am
Location: Jackson, MS, USA
Contact:

Re: "Ring" Configuration

Fri Apr 13, 2018 7:02 pm

without knowing all of your requirements, I would probably recommend using something like a CCR1036-8G-2S+ or CCR1072 in a ring topology and configure OSPF for routing and possibly MPLS if you have a need for Layer2 VLANs to go between sites.
Global - MikroTik Support & Consulting - English | Francais | Español | Portuguese +1 855-645-7684
https://iparchitechs.com/services/mikro ... l-support/ mikrotiksupport@iparchitechs.com
 
in4ni
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 187
Joined: Thu Dec 09, 2004 4:22 am
Location: Jax, Fl USA

Re: "Ring" Configuration

Fri Apr 13, 2018 10:53 pm

That sounds like what i am looking for so i called iparchitechs and the sales person quoted me $2,500.00 - $5,000.00 to configure 5 routers! I think that is a little steep. The sales person also said i should use "Unicorn" switches instead of CC routers, I have searched the internet for them to no avail.
 
User avatar
maznu
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 197
Joined: Tue May 05, 2015 11:12 am
Location: Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: "Ring" Configuration

Sat Apr 14, 2018 10:45 pm

i called iparchitechs and the sales person quoted me $2,500.00 - $5,000.00 to configure 5 routers! I think that is a little steep.
Your hardware is probably going to be a similar sort of expenditure. I'm not sure how much you're paying for your fibre ring, but I imagine there are ongoing costs for its maintenance, etc.

When you factor in time to gather requirements, build configs, any on-site deployment, "plug pull" failover testing, documentation for handover… I can imagine your project being several days' work. A few grand to have a professional setup your infrastructure — which is a one-off cost — seems pretty reasonable to me!
Marek

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests