Community discussions

MikroTik App

kiwitech
just joined
Topic Author

OSPF over SSTP Tunnel

Wed Oct 10, 2018 7:41 am

I recently started playing with using OSPF and getting it to work over our SSTP secure VPN.
The SSTP VPN is working just fine, but I wanted to be able to add routes dynamically instead of setting them statically each time we connect to the VPN.

I have used OSPF successfully in the past on different hardware, and between different hardware, Mikrotik, Cisco, Allied Telesis, etc. so didn't think I would have too much trouble with two Mikrotik routers.

Of course I looked to see if there were examples by those who may have already gone down this path, and found just what I was looking for here:
https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual:O ... interfaces

Ok, this hasn't been updated since 2010, so I am not sure when things have changed, but it is clear that the information in the configuration example is in need of updating.

So to begin, I ran up a pair of virtual RouterOS mahines and configured them as per the example, even using pppoe as per. Once the pppoe tunnel was up, I could ping backwards and forwards across both ether interfaces and pppoe interfaces.

I then added the pppoe interface addresses as directed into /routing ospf network and then monitored the /routing ospf neighbor expectantly waiting for something to show up.

Eventually I turned on OSPF logging, tore down the pppoe tunnel and re-established it, and nothing.

I even tried adding the ether ip addresses to /routing ospf network and still nothing.

It seems the issue is with using the host address rather than the network address, so I instead adjusted the network addresses on each end to 10.1.1.0/24, re-established the pppoe session and voila! I have neighbors :)