Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
ppcarvalhof
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2019 11:50 am
Location: Miguel Pereira, RJ - Brasil

OSPF(v2 andv3) nssa: only one role translator?

Tue Apr 02, 2019 5:46 pm

Why only in MikroTik i can't run more of one nssa role translator? In my scenario, i want "stuck" CEs into your own nssa area (because each one receive only default-route from PE and announces that own prefix through static routes). When has two or more CEs on PE, i create an nssa area to each CE but, i can't make PE role translator for more of one nssa area. Why? If i create same scenario with cisco PE, thats works fine...

That is error
Couldn't add New OSPF Area - only one area is allowed to be NSSA translator (6)
Image
Image
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
TheCiscoGuy
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2018 8:32 am

Re: OSPF(v2 andv3) nssa: only one role translator?

Wed Apr 10, 2019 12:13 am

According to RFC 3101, Sectio 3.1 there is a concern by the author that multiple NSSA borders performing LSA-7 to LSA-5 translations would cause excessive numbers of type 7 translations resulting in increasing the LSDB unnecessarily. It does not say that the act of prohibiting multiple translators is a requirement, but is strongly advised against. It is likely that Mikrotik has taken it upon themselves to prevent a possible misconfiguration and restricted the number of translators in the firmware directly.
Network Solutions Engineer and Trainer
Cisco | Juniper | Mikrotik | Ubiquiti
 
TheCiscoGuy
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2018 8:32 am

Re: OSPF(v2 andv3) nssa: only one role translator?

Wed Apr 10, 2019 12:15 am

One thing to note, if you are (judging by the diagram provided) using OSPF for dynamic routing to the CE and wish to use OSPF NSSA to effectively inject a default route to the CE, a better option would be either to create a new OSPF process which only advertises a default or even better use BGP
Network Solutions Engineer and Trainer
Cisco | Juniper | Mikrotik | Ubiquiti

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: funkydizzle and 7 guests