Community discussions

 
mojbuk
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2015 7:13 pm

OSPF 60GHz and 5GHz with two hex

Sat Jun 01, 2019 6:54 pm

Best regards.
I need an example of using two links. One is at 60GHz and the other is at 5GHz as a backup.
I have hex router on both sides.

What solution is your recommendation?
Thank you.

Image
Last edited by mojbuk on Sat Jun 22, 2019 1:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
agstek
just joined
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2016 5:03 pm

Re: OSPF 60GHz and 5GHz

Sun Jun 02, 2019 10:30 pm

===================================================================================
Router_1 # Internet
Router_2 # Computer

===================================================================================
Router_1 Config
===================================================================================

/system identity set name=Router_1
/interface bridge add name=loopback

/interface ethernet
set ether1 name=ether1-P2P_60Ghz_2A
set ether2 name=ether2-P2P_5Ghz_2B

/ip address
add address=10.255.250.50/32 interface=loopback
add address=172.30.51.6/29 interface=ether2-P2P_60Ghz_2A
add address=172.30.52.6/29 interface=ether3-P2P_5Ghz_2B

/routing ospf instance
set [ find default=yes ] distribute-default=if-installed-as-type-1 redistribute-connected=as-type-1 redistribute-static=as-type-1 router-id=10.255.250.51

/routing ospf interface
add authentication=md5 authentication-key=Y4%1l&H2AHo4dEHdn instance-id=0 network-type=broadcast interface=loopback
add authentication=md5 authentication-key=Y4%1l&H2AHo4dEHdn instance-id=0 network-type=broadcast interface=ether2-P2P_60Ghz_2A
add authentication=md5 authentication-key=Y4%1l&H2AHo4dEHdn instance-id=0 network-type=broadcast interface=ether3-P2P_5Ghz_2B

/routing ospf network
add area=backbone network=10.255.250.51/32
add area=backbone network=172.30.51.0/29
add area=backbone network=172.30.52.0/29


/routing filter
add chain=ospf-in set-pref-src=10.255.250.51

/mpls ldp
set enabled=yes lsr-id=10.255.250.50 transport-address=10.255.250.51

/mpls ldp interface
add interface=ether2-P2P_60Ghz_2A
add interface=ether3-P2P_5Ghz_2B

===================================================================================
Router_2 Config
===================================================================================

/system identity set name=Router_1
/interface bridge add name=loopback

/interface ethernet
set ether1 name=ether1-P2P_60Ghz_1A
set ether2 name=ether2-P2P_5Ghz_1B

/ip address
add address=10.255.250.52/32 interface=loopback
add address=172.30.51.1/29 interface=ether1-P2P_60Ghz_1A
add address=172.30.52.1/29 interface=ether2-P2P_5Ghz_1B

/routing ospf instance
set [ find default=yes ] distribute-default=never redistribute-connected=as-type-1 redistribute-static=as-type-1 router-id=10.255.250.52

/routing ospf interface
add authentication=md5 authentication-key=Y4%1l&H2AHo4dEHdn instance-id=0 network-type=broadcast interface=loopback
add authentication=md5 authentication-key=Y4%1l&H2AHo4dEHdn instance-id=0 network-type=broadcast interface=ether1-P2P_60Ghz_1A
add authentication=md5 authentication-key=Y4%1l&H2AHo4dEHdn instance-id=0 network-type=broadcast interface=ether2-P2P_5Ghz_1B

/routing ospf network
add area=backbone network=10.255.250.52/32
add area=backbone network=172.30.51.0/29
add area=backbone network=172.30.52.0/29


/routing filter
add chain=ospf-in set-pref-src=10.255.250.52

/mpls ldp
set enabled=yes lsr-id=10.255.250.50 transport-address=10.255.250.52

/mpls ldp interface
add interface=ether1-P2P_60Ghz_1A
add interface=ether2-P2P_5Ghz_1B
 
mojbuk
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2015 7:13 pm

Re: OSPF 60GHz and 5GHz

Mon Jun 03, 2019 7:42 am

===================================================================================
Router_1 # Internet
Router_2 # Computer

===================================================================================
Router_1 Config
===================================================================================

/system identity set name=Router_1
/interface bridge add name=loopback

/interface ethernet
set ether1 name=ether1-P2P_60Ghz_2A
set ether2 name=ether2-P2P_5Ghz_2B

/ip address
add address=10.255.250.50/32 interface=loopback
add address=172.30.51.6/29 interface=ether2-P2P_60Ghz_2A
add address=172.30.52.6/29 interface=ether3-P2P_5Ghz_2B

/routing ospf instance
set [ find default=yes ] distribute-default=if-installed-as-type-1 redistribute-connected=as-type-1 redistribute-static=as-type-1 router-id=10.255.250.51

/routing ospf interface
add authentication=md5 authentication-key=Y4%1l&H2AHo4dEHdn instance-id=0 network-type=broadcast interface=loopback
add authentication=md5 authentication-key=Y4%1l&H2AHo4dEHdn instance-id=0 network-type=broadcast interface=ether2-P2P_60Ghz_2A
add authentication=md5 authentication-key=Y4%1l&H2AHo4dEHdn instance-id=0 network-type=broadcast interface=ether3-P2P_5Ghz_2B

/routing ospf network
add area=backbone network=10.255.250.51/32
add area=backbone network=172.30.51.0/29
add area=backbone network=172.30.52.0/29


/routing filter
add chain=ospf-in set-pref-src=10.255.250.51

/mpls ldp
set enabled=yes lsr-id=10.255.250.50 transport-address=10.255.250.51

/mpls ldp interface
add interface=ether2-P2P_60Ghz_2A
add interface=ether3-P2P_5Ghz_2B

===================================================================================
Router_2 Config
===================================================================================

/system identity set name=Router_1
/interface bridge add name=loopback

/interface ethernet
set ether1 name=ether1-P2P_60Ghz_1A
set ether2 name=ether2-P2P_5Ghz_1B

/ip address
add address=10.255.250.52/32 interface=loopback
add address=172.30.51.1/29 interface=ether1-P2P_60Ghz_1A
add address=172.30.52.1/29 interface=ether2-P2P_5Ghz_1B

/routing ospf instance
set [ find default=yes ] distribute-default=never redistribute-connected=as-type-1 redistribute-static=as-type-1 router-id=10.255.250.52

/routing ospf interface
add authentication=md5 authentication-key=Y4%1l&H2AHo4dEHdn instance-id=0 network-type=broadcast interface=loopback
add authentication=md5 authentication-key=Y4%1l&H2AHo4dEHdn instance-id=0 network-type=broadcast interface=ether1-P2P_60Ghz_1A
add authentication=md5 authentication-key=Y4%1l&H2AHo4dEHdn instance-id=0 network-type=broadcast interface=ether2-P2P_5Ghz_1B

/routing ospf network
add area=backbone network=10.255.250.52/32
add area=backbone network=172.30.51.0/29
add area=backbone network=172.30.52.0/29


/routing filter
add chain=ospf-in set-pref-src=10.255.250.52

/mpls ldp
set enabled=yes lsr-id=10.255.250.50 transport-address=10.255.250.52

/mpls ldp interface
add interface=ether1-P2P_60Ghz_1A
add interface=ether2-P2P_5Ghz_1B
Thank you. I tried but did not work. There are errors in interface names that I have corrected but are not working again.
 
millenium7
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Posts: 208
Joined: Wed Mar 16, 2016 6:12 am

Re: OSPF 60GHz and 5GHz

Thu Jun 20, 2019 4:49 am

The way I do this in our network is first make sure you aren't bridging the 60ghz and 5ghz together. You want to use routing
Set IP addresses on 60ghz and 5ghz links in different subnets i.e. 10.0.0.0/29 for 60ghz and 10.0.1.0/29 for 5ghz

Set up OSPF for both networks. Use type point-to-point (most reliable type on MikroTik i've found)
Set interface OSPF cost on backup link higher (I always add +5 to make it really easy to spot if using backup routes)
Use BFD on the primary link for faster failure detection, but NOT on the backup link

This works pretty good for us. My next step is to write some custom scripts that keep the primary link down if the link quality is not good to prevent flapping. This is easy to do on MikroTik 60ghz radio's because they run RouterOS so just a simple script that looks at 60ghz registration table and if RSSI is below a certain threshold, add bridge filter rule to drop all OSPF packets (or any other method to prevent the link being used if its not good).
Harder when its any other vendor i.e. Ubiquiti 24ghz. My plan was to use snmp-get on routers to read RSSI and SNR values of the radio and do the same - just block OSPF - but you can't save the value into a variable so not currently possible
 
lambert
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 533
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2010 1:09 am

Re: OSPF 60GHz and 5GHz

Thu Jun 20, 2019 11:04 pm

Thank you. I tried but did not work. There are errors in interface names that I have corrected but are not working again.
Did you bridge the radio devices? You are not giving any indication as to what did not work for you. agstek provided a config example that can be tested with ethernet replacing the wireless devices. It looks like they exported a config from otherwise blank routers. I'm tempted to throw it onto a couple of RB952s just to verify if there are any errors. Unfortunately, I have my own work to do.
 
mojbuk
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2015 7:13 pm

Re: OSPF 60GHz and 5GHz

Sat Jun 22, 2019 1:06 pm

The way I do this in our network is first make sure you aren't bridging the 60ghz and 5ghz together. You want to use routing
Set IP addresses on 60ghz and 5ghz links in different subnets i.e. 10.0.0.0/29 for 60ghz and 10.0.1.0/29 for 5ghz

Set up OSPF for both networks. Use type point-to-point (most reliable type on MikroTik i've found)
Set interface OSPF cost on backup link higher (I always add +5 to make it really easy to spot if using backup routes)
Use BFD on the primary link for faster failure detection, but NOT on the backup link

This works pretty good for us. My next step is to write some custom scripts that keep the primary link down if the link quality is not good to prevent flapping. This is easy to do on MikroTik 60ghz radio's because they run RouterOS so just a simple script that looks at 60ghz registration table and if RSSI is below a certain threshold, add bridge filter rule to drop all OSPF packets (or any other method to prevent the link being used if its not good).
Harder when its any other vendor i.e. Ubiquiti 24ghz. My plan was to use snmp-get on routers to read RSSI and SNR values of the radio and do the same - just block OSPF - but you can't save the value into a variable so not currently possible
Thank you. I use 5GHz and 60 GHz as separated devices.
DynaDish and LHG60ad. I try to make OSPF on 2 ethernet ports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests