Community discussions

 
Gombeen666
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Jun 25, 2019 5:33 pm

OSPF Interface all passive

Thu Jun 27, 2019 12:27 pm

When setting ospf interface "all" as passive is it normal that state is "Down"

1 P interface=all cost=10 priority=1 authentication=none authentication-key=""
authentication-key-id=1 network-type=broadcast instance-id=0
retransmit-interval=5s transmit-delay=1s hello-interval=10s
dead-interval=40s use-bfd=no
 
User avatar
Anumrak
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1051
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2017 2:53 pm

Re: OSPF Interface all passive

Thu Jun 27, 2019 3:34 pm

When setting ospf interface "all" as passive is it normal that state is "Down"

1 P interface=all cost=10 priority=1 authentication=none authentication-key=""
authentication-key-id=1 network-type=broadcast instance-id=0
retransmit-interval=5s transmit-delay=1s hello-interval=10s
dead-interval=40s use-bfd=no
You should do passive interfaces if you do not want to enable OSPF on them.
 
Wolfraider
newbie
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 8:06 pm

Re: OSPF Interface all passive

Tue Jul 16, 2019 2:18 am

I wish there was a simple way to mark all instances as passive except the ones we add manually.
 
User avatar
Anumrak
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1051
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2017 2:53 pm

Re: OSPF Interface all passive

Tue Jul 16, 2019 11:06 am

I wish there was a simple way to mark all instances as passive except the ones we add manually.
Its easy enough with winbox software as a GUI.
 
User avatar
IPANetEngineer
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 1053
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2012 6:46 am
Location: Jackson, MS, USA
Contact:

Re: OSPF Interface all passive

Tue Jul 16, 2019 4:36 pm

Are you saying the interfaces are physically up but show as down in OSPF passive?
Global - MikroTik Support & Consulting - English | Francais | Español | Portuguese +1 855-645-7684
https://iparchitechs.com/services/mikro ... l-support/ mikrotiksupport@iparchitechs.com
 
Wolfraider
newbie
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 8:06 pm

Re: OSPF Interface all passive

Tue Jul 16, 2019 10:23 pm

Not as easy when you have a few hundred vlans. Not bad to script but would be nice to have a simple checkbox to automatically have all interfaces as passive and then add the ones you want.
 
User avatar
jprietove
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2016 3:00 pm
Location: Cádiz, Spain
Contact:

Re: OSPF Interface all passive

Wed Jul 17, 2019 9:59 am

Not as easy when you have a few hundred vlans. Not bad to script but would be nice to have a simple checkbox to automatically have all interfaces as passive and then add the ones you want.
/routing ospf interfaces add interface=all area=backbone passive=yes
 
User avatar
Anumrak
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1051
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2017 2:53 pm

Re: OSPF Interface all passive

Wed Jul 17, 2019 10:33 am

Not as easy when you have a few hundred vlans. Not bad to script but would be nice to have a simple checkbox to automatically have all interfaces as passive and then add the ones you want.
/routing ospf interfaces add interface=all area=backbone passive=yes
Exactly :)

https://wiki.mikrotik.com/wiki/Manual%3 ... #Interface
 
User avatar
jprietove
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2016 3:00 pm
Location: Cádiz, Spain
Contact:

Re: OSPF Interface all passive

Wed Jul 17, 2019 11:05 am

Well, not exactly because this is not OSPF-v3... it is (sorry for the mistake):
/routing ospf interface add interface=all passive=yes
 
Wolfraider
newbie
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2015 8:06 pm

Re: OSPF Interface all passive

Thu Jul 18, 2019 2:12 am

I completely missed that. Thanks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests