Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
kashifzai86
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2015 8:58 am
Location: Karachi

Issue assigning Public IPs to cleints

Tue Nov 12, 2019 7:39 am

pic2.jpg
I'm not new in Router OS, but from long time I'm working on NATTing, Now I have some issue regarding ROUTING public ip addressing to the clients.

My network Diagram also attached with this topic, My ISP has assigned me 13.13.1.0/23 public IP pool (here pool assigned IPs are fake provided deliberately) .
Pool: 13.13.1.0/23
My Mikrotik Router GW: 13.13.1.1/23
My Mikrotik WAN Interface IP: 13.13.1.2/23
IPs Pool available: 13.13.1.3----13.13.2.254/23

I dont want to use Proxy-ARP, as I'm already doing all this by PROXY-ARP... My ISP doesn't provide me anything like RIP,OSPF...they had provided me Static Routes only...
How should I run this scheme to my users.. I'm running pppoe Server by assigning using public IP Pool from my DHCP.

Please do help...
K Khan
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
Sob
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5712
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:11 pm

Re: Issue assigning Public IPs to cleints

Tue Nov 12, 2019 5:20 pm

The right way would be to get whole /23 routed to you. You don't need RIP, OSPF or anything, static route is fine. But as you described it, it looks like it's not routed, but used on the link between you and ISP. Which would not be ideal, because you would have to use proxy ARP to route invidual addresses further behind your router. Are you sure it's like this from ISP, or can it perhaps be your misinterpretation of what they gave you?
People who quote full posts should be spanked with ethernet cable. Some exceptions for multi-topic threads may apply. Not intended as incentive for masochists.
 
kashifzai86
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2015 8:58 am
Location: Karachi

Re: Issue assigning Public IPs to cleints

Wed Nov 13, 2019 2:39 pm

Thanks for your Reply..

Yes, I'm sure becoz, I'm using this PROXY-ARP from last 2 years and now I need to change this for Routing...

Tell what should I do, or any alternative possibility??
can I use OSPF without ISP provision??
 
mrtrca
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 2:22 pm
Location: Turkey
Contact:

Re: Issue assigning Public IPs to cleints

Wed Nov 13, 2019 2:56 pm

Hi,

example,
#example 1
#R1 example configuration,
/ip address add interface=wan_interface address=13.13.1.2/23 disabled=no comment="WAN IP"
/ip address add interface=lan_interface address=13.13.1.3/23 disabled=no comment="to_switch"
/ip route gateway=13.13.1.1 dst-address=0.0.0.0/0 disabled=no
/ip route add dst-address=13.13.1.4/32 gateway=13.13.13.1.3 comment="PC 1"
/ip route add dst-address=13.13.1.5/32 gateway=13.13.13.1.3 comment="PC 2"
/ip route add dst-address=13.13.1.6/32 gateway=13.13.13.1.3 comment="PC 3"


#PC 1 
ip address = 13.13.1.4 
netmask = 255.255.254.0
gateway = 13.13.1.3

#PC 1 
ip address = 13.13.1.5 
netmask = 255.255.254.0
gateway = 13.13.1.3

#PC 1 
ip address = 13.13.1.6 
netmask = 255.255.254.0
gateway = 13.13.1.3
MTCNA | MTCWE | MTCRE | MTCINE
in Türkiye
 
Sob
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5712
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:11 pm

Re: Issue assigning Public IPs to cleints

Wed Nov 13, 2019 4:01 pm

It's not really up to you. There are two basic possible configs that ISP can use. First is routed subnet, where config from ISP's router would look like this:
/ip address
add interface=<to_customer> address=14.14.14.1/30
/ip route
add dst-address=13.13.1.0/23 gateway=14.14.14.2
There would be one connecting subnet, in this example 14.14.14.0/30 and you'd have 14.14.14.2 on WAN and use 14.14.14.1 as default gateway. And whole 13.13.1.0/23 would be yours. But what you describe looks like not routed subnet, where ISP's router has:
/ip address
add interface=<to_customer> address=13.13.1.1/23
If that's the case, ISP expects all addresses from /23 to be directly reachable on same link. And if you need them routed further, you have to use proxy ARP. I'm no OSPF expert, you can probably use it in your network with these addresses, but you still need to have proxy ARP on WAN, otherwise ISP wouldn't be able to communicate with them.
People who quote full posts should be spanked with ethernet cable. Some exceptions for multi-topic threads may apply. Not intended as incentive for masochists.
 
kashifzai86
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2015 8:58 am
Location: Karachi

Re: Issue assigning Public IPs to cleints

Wed Nov 13, 2019 4:52 pm

Hello MRTCA

your posts commands and structure not works, Please suggest anything oR any butter workaround
 
kashifzai86
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2015 8:58 am
Location: Karachi

Re: Issue assigning Public IPs to cleints

Wed Nov 13, 2019 4:54 pm

Dear SOB

My thoughts are similar what you had told me, but my ISP not providing me more IP Space...Well hope will get any other possible options.
 
Sob
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5712
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:11 pm

Re: Issue assigning Public IPs to cleints

Wed Nov 13, 2019 6:23 pm

You don't need more IP space, just a different way to deliver that /23 to you. But if ISP refuses to do that, you can pretend that you have whole /23 for yourself and only use point to point for WAN:
/ip address
add address=13.13.1.2/32 network=13.13.13.1 interface=<WAN>
/ip route
add dst-address=0.0.0.0/0 gateway=13.13.13.1
You'll still need proxy ARP for WAN interface, but I don't see a problem with it. Since WAN will have only point to point IP config, you can do whatever you want with whole /23, except for .1 and .2 used on WAN, and it should be ok.
People who quote full posts should be spanked with ethernet cable. Some exceptions for multi-topic threads may apply. Not intended as incentive for masochists.
 
mrtrca
just joined
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 2:22 pm
Location: Turkey
Contact:

Re: Issue assigning Public IPs to cleints

Wed Nov 13, 2019 6:31 pm

Hello MRTCA

your posts commands and structure not works, Please suggest anything oR any butter workaround
Hi kashifzai86
I assume your DNS and similar settings have been made.
If there is no VLAN configuration on your network, I can't see why it won't work.
I assume that "interface=wan_interface" and "interface=lan_interface" are set correctly.
I assume that the 24PL3S configuration is correct.

good work,
MTCNA | MTCWE | MTCRE | MTCINE
in Türkiye
 
Sob
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 5712
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:11 pm

Re: Issue assigning Public IPs to cleints

Wed Nov 13, 2019 7:10 pm

Same subnet on two different interfaces generally doesn't work very well...
People who quote full posts should be spanked with ethernet cable. Some exceptions for multi-topic threads may apply. Not intended as incentive for masochists.
 
kashifzai86
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Nov 09, 2015 8:58 am
Location: Karachi

Re: Issue assigning Public IPs to cleints

Wed Nov 13, 2019 9:05 pm

Thanks dear 'sob' & 'MRTCA' for suggestions..

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests