Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
laithmikrotik
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 431
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 3:18 pm

how to access to a routerboard throug other one

Fri May 22, 2020 2:15 pm

hi every one
you have two routerboards
the first one RB1 with ip=50.50.50.1
the second RB2 with ip =50.50.50.2
the question is / how can i access to the RB2 through RB1 without make a bridge between ethers of RB1 ( NO BRIDGE BETEEN PORT1+PORT4)
can i do that ?
with appreciation and respect
Image
I LIKE MIKROTIK
 
User avatar
mutluit
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 504
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2020 4:04 am

Re: how to access to a routerboard throug other one

Fri May 22, 2020 2:39 pm

hi every one
you have two routerboards
the first one RB1 with ip=50.50.50.1
the second RB2 with ip =50.50.50.2
the question is / how can i access to the RB2 through RB1 without make a bridge between ethers of RB1 ( NO BRIDGE BETEEN PORT1+PORT4)
can i do that ?

I think that's not possible at OSI layer 3+ (IP addresses).
You could do it in the firewall with port forwarding or traffic forwarding to interface etc.
Last edited by mutluit on Fri May 22, 2020 2:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.
 
User avatar
bpwl
Long time Member
Long time Member
Posts: 598
Joined: Mon Apr 08, 2019 1:16 am

Re: how to access to a routerboard throug other one

Fri May 22, 2020 2:41 pm

Without a bridge, and 2 routers in the same subnet .... routing might not work unless RB1 routes for that subnet.and the PC is in another subnet.
Proxy-ARP and masquerade might make it all work however.

You can connect to RB2 by using the Telnet tool in RB1. (Telnet, SSH , MAC telnet)
For Winbox access enable ROMON on RB1 and RB2. In Winbox do "connect to Romon" and select RB1. Then in the discover list RB2 will be available for connection.
For web access , enable the Web proxy in RB1. Use RB1 as proxy server in the PC, or redirect HTTP requests to the Web proxy in RB1
 
User avatar
nickshore
Member
Member
Posts: 483
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 4:14 pm
Location: Suffolk, UK.
Contact:

Re: how to access to a routerboard throug other one

Fri May 22, 2020 2:57 pm

You need to route the traffic.

so on RB1 set the IP on eth1 to be 50.50.50.1/24

PC is on 50.50.50.2

Now on RB1 set IP on eth4 to be 50.50.60.1/24
Now on RB2 set IP on its eth1 to be 50.50.60.2/24

Make its default route 50.50.60.1


Now on PC you can get to 50.50.60.2 (assuming PC has default route via 50.50.50.1

Hope that helps
Nick
Nick Shore MTCNA MTCWE MTCRE MTCINE MTCTCE
LinITX.com - MultiThread Consultants
Get your MikroTik RBs and Training: http://linitx.com/brand/mikrotik
Official UK MikroTik Distributor
IRC chan: #routerboard on irc.z.je (IPv4 and IPv6)
 
User avatar
laithmikrotik
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 431
Joined: Wed Apr 13, 2011 3:18 pm

Re: how to access to a routerboard throug other one

Fri May 22, 2020 6:54 pm

Nick
bpwl
and mutluit
:D :D
My thanks and appreciation to all of you.
I LIKE MIKROTIK

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests