Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
kd2pm2
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 7:14 am
Location: New Jersey, USA

1-way OSPF between RB2011 and RB4011

Tue Oct 20, 2020 9:52 pm

I am having a really odd issue setting up OSPF between my 2 routers running 6.47.4

I have the 2 routers set up using the SFP interfaces. I know the interfaces work w/o OSPF since thats my normal config. The only strange thing though, and it seems to have no impact on connectivity, is that the RB2011 does not recognize the SFP module when you look at the interface but yet it still works and auto negotiates and I have internet access through it,etc...

Now I want to take that link and create a /30 on it (172.16.0.0/30 using 172.16.0.1 and 172.16.02 as the interface addresses)

I am using the backbone for the area since its a simple OSPF setup. I made sure the instance and area information were correct and then went ahead and added the networks

This is where it gets weird. The RB2011 see the RB4011 as the neighbor but the RB4011 does not see the RB2011 as a neighbor. When I look at the RB2011 it shows an init state.

When I look at the rest of the details, the network/interfaces show as designated routers.

Before I upload the export files...any initial thoughts? Why only a 1-way communications when I have both of them pretty much set up exactly the same? Until I can get the RB4011 to see the RB2011, I am not even bothering to send out my default route and I have that set to never right now till I figure out the rest.

Maybe I should try copper instead of fiber ports to see if it will work? Anyone know of anything with 6.47.4 that could impact OSPF? Seems the older RB2011 plays better than the newer RB4011 does...
Ed in NJ-USA
RB2011 / RB4011 / RB260GS / RB750
 
User avatar
xvo
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1130
Joined: Sat Mar 03, 2018 1:12 am
Location: Moscow, Russia

Re: 1-way OSPF between RB2011 and RB4011

Tue Oct 20, 2020 11:44 pm

Is ospf permitted by firewall on both sides?
 
kd2pm2
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 7:14 am
Location: New Jersey, USA

Re: 1-way OSPF between RB2011 and RB4011

Tue Oct 20, 2020 11:49 pm

The RB4011 does have a FW active since its also the ASBR. Let me check to see what could be preventing the OSPF messages from passing back and forth.

I actually used GNS3 to make a simple network and it worked 100%, but...no FW on either router there.

Good place for me to start...
Ed in NJ-USA
RB2011 / RB4011 / RB260GS / RB750
 
kd2pm2
Frequent Visitor
Frequent Visitor
Topic Author
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 7:14 am
Location: New Jersey, USA

Re: 1-way OSPF between RB2011 and RB4011

Wed Oct 21, 2020 2:51 am

Is ospf permitted by firewall on both sides?
Thanks for the tip XVO. Just had to accept OSPF on the input chain on the RB4011 since it had the FW in place.

RB2011 can get to the internet so all is good.
Ed in NJ-USA
RB2011 / RB4011 / RB260GS / RB750

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests