Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
paintballer4lfe
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 5:10 pm

[solved] OSPF with Fortigate

Sat Nov 21, 2020 12:43 am

So I configured OSPF on both sides and ran a debug to see the OSPF packets and they are coming back and forth with the Tik and Fortigate however the Tik and Forigate are not negotiating properly or something. Router ID's and correct as well as areas and instances. I've never configured OSPF on a Tik to talk with a Fortigate so i could be doing something way wrong I'm not sure.

Tik config:
/routing ospf instance
add name=Fortigate router-id=11.10.10.2
/routing ospf area
add area-id=11.10.10.1 instance=Fortigate name=Fortigate
/routing ospf interface
add cost=5 interface=eth4_FGUplink network-type=broadcast
add area=Fortigate network=11.10.10.0/30
<will be adding more networks once OSPF is functioning>
Fortigate Config:
config router ospf
set router-id 11.10.10.3
config area
edit 11.10.10.1
next
end
config ospf-interface
edit "Fortigate"
set interface "port1"
next
end
config network
edit 1
set prefix 11.10.10.0 255.255.255.252
next
edit 2
set prefix 192.168.2.0 255.255.255.0
next
edit 3
set prefix 192.168.10.0 255.255.255.0
next
edit 4
set prefix 192.167.1.0 255.255.255.224
next
end
config redistribute "connected"
set status enable
set metric 1
end
No neighbors listed on either devices and the Tik of course is selected as the DR.

What am I missing lol, I wish this was as smiple as OSPF on Cisco devices.
 
paintballer4lfe
just joined
Topic Author
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2016 5:10 pm

Re: [solved] OSPF with Fortigate

Sun Nov 22, 2020 10:58 pm

So the issue which was a weird one is the fortigate was sending the incorrect router ID. reboted the firewall and it started sending the correct ID and it's working great now.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests