Page 1 of 1

MPLS/VPLS testing

Posted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 12:08 pm
by normis
We would like to do some testing of MPLS/VPLS settings, if anyone can give us access to a CISCO 7600 router, please contact MikroTik Support. This will speed up the MPLS development quite a bit. Thanks!

Re: MPLS/VPLS testing

Posted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 5:53 pm
by mknnoc
how long do you need? i have 7200 only

Re: MPLS/VPLS testing

Posted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 12:17 am
by trm3
I am running a global Cisco 75xx MPLS network on IOS 12.0S and 12.4 trains. I have hopes that I can replace these monsters eventually with Mikrotik boxes. I could most likely provide you with access to a test bed 7513...

Tim McKee
tmckee at sdnglobal dqt com

Re: MPLS/VPLS testing

Posted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 10:04 am
by normis
thanks for the offer, but we need specifically the 7600 series

Re: MPLS/VPLS testing

Posted: Thu Mar 05, 2009 12:25 pm
by Chupaka
trm3, MikroTik MPLS should work fine with 75xx. they have only faced problem on 7600. I think, you may already try to setup RouterOS MPLS routers in test lab

Re: MPLS/VPLS testing

Posted: Fri Mar 06, 2009 12:48 am
by jonesy
I suspect this is related to the fact that VPLS functionality is only available on the 7600 platform.

It's good to see MPLS on mikrotik getting more attention.

Re: MPLS/VPLS testing

Posted: Sat Mar 07, 2009 5:08 pm
by Eising
I've been testing it for a couple of days with no real issues found. It works great actually. There's a bit of fun with the redistribution between routing protocols, but that's a general thing :)
The only real issue is the lack of Sham-link support on OSPF, but I'm thinking that it can be solved by making VPLS circuits instead of sham-links. I'm testing that Monday.

Re: MPLS/VPLS testing

Posted: Mon Apr 06, 2009 6:41 pm
by airtech
Normis,
We have a couple 7609's that might be available for use. PM me and we can discuss.

Re: MPLS/VPLS testing

Posted: Tue Apr 07, 2009 9:04 am
by normis
Thank you for the offer! We will let you know if we will need it again.

Re: MPLS/VPLS testing

Posted: Thu Apr 30, 2009 7:30 am
by rkj
normis, does MT interoperate with EoMPLS (AToM) also, besides VPLS ? I'm thinking on using some RB-1000s to interoperate with Cisco ME6524, which don't do VPLS, only EoMPLS or H-VPLS.

Re: MPLS/VPLS testing

Posted: Mon May 18, 2009 10:01 am
by Mplsguy
The short answer is - yes.

There are multiple methods on how to implement point-to-point pseudowires (and VPLS as well). RouterOS implementation has been tested with catalyst 6500 (using RFC 4447 type 0x80 FEC). In routeros you have to add static vpls interface and specify "cisco-style=yes" and also specify "cisco-style-id" (VC id in cisco). Please make sure that your network will support big enough physical MTUs for encapsulation as static pseudowires with cisco do not support packet fragmentation.

In case pseudowire fails to establish or does not pass data, please capture targeted LDP session establishment and data exchange and send to Mikrotik support for analysis so that more compatibility can be implemented.

Re: MPLS/VPLS testing

Posted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 8:12 am
by mikrotikpr
PC-1 obtain automatic IP - This PC is connected to the Ethernet port
2(Mikrotik) - 192.168.1.98 Router assign ip.
PC-2 obtain automatic IP - This PC is connected to the Ethernet port
3(Mikrotik) - 192.168.1.99 Router assign ip.

Both PC's use a PC client Application and the Application data send to this IP Destination 192.168.9.9 and this Destination Port (3004) both PC's to the same IP and port Destination.

Local remote Port for each PC is a random port assigned.

*** I receive this traffic From both PC's an apply this command (NAT)***


I NAT BOTH PC's to the same private LAN 10.1.2.33 Port (5577).

This address is my Host address (10.1.2.33:5577) this is a SERVER Application to answer the PC's request.

[My server application listening (port 5577) and response the data.

Important each PC establish a permanet connection to my host.

(we use the Ethernet port 0) (Mikrotik). To connect to my Host Server.

In my Application server we have only one socket connection or station to receive both pc's at the same time.

I need to establish permanent connection for both PC's? Or send traffic both PC's for the same server socket connection.

We need work like a lease line uplink.

*Now only work one pc at the time* Example PC1 connect send the data, desconnect this socket and the second PC connect a send data*

We need Many connection to One (permanent connection) All trafic recive for al client side sent to the same uplink (WAN).

We appreciate your help!

Thanks
David

Re: MPLS/VPLS testing

Posted: Sat Oct 10, 2009 11:00 am
by siscom
Hi Normis,

Are you still in need of Cisco 7200 access?
I have a couple of 7206VXR units lying idle ....

Mark

Re: MPLS/VPLS testing

Posted: Sat Oct 10, 2009 2:09 pm
by stephend
We have been testing over the past week between Foundry (now Brocade) CES2000s, MLX and Mikrotik router.

LDP and VPLS services have tested out fine and working extremely well.

If Mikrotik are looking for some MPLS capable routers with VPLS for testing then I can suggest these products.

Re: MPLS/VPLS testing

Posted: Tue Mar 02, 2010 11:22 pm
by jasejames
Would the issue I am having with JUNOS help you guys in any way?

After the Routerboard, the SRX100 is probably the cheapest VPLS-ready box out there (£500UK), and I can probably give you an SSH in if required.