MUM Europe 2020

rpingar
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author

from routed bgp network and eoip to mpls/vpls

Sun Mar 22, 2009 7:04 pm

Hi,

we are running a 40 nodes network routed by bgp, where each node is viewed like an AS.
the AP are link to several pppoe server through the woip links.

Now we are starting to think about mpls.
But i am very new to mpls so i need some advice.

Is it possible to mantain the same logic each node is an AS and the propagate the ldp through the bgp?
In fact the wiki exemple is about only ibgp and so i don't know it is tue also in a ebgp scenario.

Hope to receive some hint about it.

regards
Ros
Last edited by rpingar on Sun Mar 22, 2009 7:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

andreacoppini
Trainer
Trainer

Re: from routed bgo network and eoip to mpls/vpls

Sun Mar 22, 2009 7:28 pm

Now we are starting to think about mpls.
But i am very new to mpls so i need some advice.
My main advice is to wait. MPLS is not completely stable in ROS yet, there are still a number of bugs which need to be ironed out.

By all means, start planning, designing and testing, but I would avoid putting it on a production network for now.
- No strings attached -

<< Please give good Karma if this post helped you. Press the + button above the Location entry

rpingar
Long time Member
Long time Member
Topic Author

Re: from routed bgo network and eoip to mpls/vpls

Sun Mar 22, 2009 7:35 pm

i am starting to think about it not putting it in production.

My idea is:
- the vpls should connect the AP to the PPPoE concentrator so i shoul duse static VPLS configuration.
- but i am running eBGP protocols thrugh the nodes and so LDP doesn't work throiught it.

So my question is:
how to easly modify my design to accomodate the ldp distribution without the network outages?

regards
Ros

Mplsguy
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support

Re: from routed bgp network and eoip to mpls/vpls

Mon Mar 23, 2009 10:47 am