Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
CarulloS
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 406
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 5:52 am

OSPF Multiple Default Route Problem / Question

Sat May 09, 2009 6:49 am

ROS 3.23

Have ospf running on say 10 routers, all connected with multiple routes to each, all in same area 0.0.0.1

Main ospf router with local interface to internet router has:
default static route
ospf setting of general/redistribute default route/always type 2 with default route metric set to default of 1

Everything like this is happy and all routers have default route dynamically imported from ospf with cost of 1 as expected

Now I am adding another internet connection (for backup only-never used if main connection available) to say ospf router 5

I added a default route to this router with a distance setting of 200 so the ospf received default route is active and preferred and this local static default route is blue and available but not active. No problem here this too is expected and preferred.

Now - on ospf router 5 these ospf settings are made: general/redistribute default route/always type 2 with default metric 500

At this point I would expect to see two default routes available each with different costs in routing table (ospf routes or ip routes - somewhere) but what happens is that this particular router now only has one default route which is the local static one being redistributed and the one normally received and used dynamically is not present any more.

Furthermore the second higher cost default route never shows in any other router as an inactive (blue) default route or at all for that matter... I was thinking that each roter would show two default routes with different costs and the higher cost default route being set to inactive (blue in winbox routes list).

Thoughts? Should this happen? Am I going about this wrong?

Some config info...
All routers have this ospf config except two with default routes (router id's different of course):
router-id: 0.0.0.12
distribute-default: never
redistribute-connected: as-type-1
redistribute-static: no
redistribute-rip: no
redistribute-bgp: no
metric-default: 1
metric-connected: 20
metric-static: 20
metric-rip: 20
metric-bgp: 20
mpls-te-area: unspecified
mpls-te-router-id: unspecified


Main router with default route used always if available:
router-id: 0.0.0.10
distribute-default: always-as-type-2
redistribute-connected: as-type-1
redistribute-static: no
redistribute-rip: no
redistribute-bgp: no
metric-default: 1
metric-connected: 20
metric-static: 20
metric-rip: 20
metric-bgp: 20
mpls-te-area: unspecified
mpls-te-router-id: unspecified

Router with secondary backup only internet / default route:
router-id: 0.0.0.13
distribute-default: always-as-type-2
redistribute-connected: as-type-1
redistribute-static: as-type-1
redistribute-rip: no
redistribute-bgp: no
metric-default: 500
metric-connected: 20
metric-static: 20
metric-rip: 20
metric-bgp: 20
mpls-te-area: unspecified
mpls-te-router-id: unspecified


Thanks for your time...
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6043
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: OSPF Multiple Default Route Problem / Question

Thu May 14, 2009 9:29 am

You will not see two default routes in routing table. If primary default route fails and becomes inactive, then ospf should install another default route in routing table.
 
User avatar
MichelePietravalle
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 9:03 pm

Re: OSPF Multiple Default Route Problem / Question

Thu May 14, 2009 9:40 am

and if i want to see them for debug?

Thanks!
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6043
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: OSPF Multiple Default Route Problem / Question

Thu May 14, 2009 9:47 am

you can check
/routing ospf lsa
and
/routing ospf route

these two tables contains complete information
 
CarulloS
Member
Member
Topic Author
Posts: 406
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 5:52 am

Re: OSPF Multiple Default Route Problem / Question

Thu May 14, 2009 3:05 pm

My problem isn't the route list it's the fact that the one with the failover internet connection has a higher ospf cost but since it's local it uses that instead of the primary ospf route that all the other routers use.
 
User avatar
mrz
MikroTik Support
MikroTik Support
Posts: 6043
Joined: Wed Feb 07, 2007 12:45 pm
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: OSPF Multiple Default Route Problem / Question

Thu May 14, 2009 3:40 pm

set distribute-default=if-installed-as-type-1

and problem should be gone

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests