Community discussions

MikroTik App
 
User avatar
uumar
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2009 11:11 pm

OSPF Setup

Fri Sep 04, 2009 10:52 pm

i have a wireless network that consist of 15 routers (rb433AH). all routers are bridged to a rb1000. i need to change the network structure from bridged to routing. i want to use OSPF. can any one please guide me on a simple OSPF setup for my network?
 
User avatar
omega-00
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1167
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 4:54 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: OSPF Setup

Sat Sep 05, 2009 5:23 am

 
User avatar
MichelePietravalle
Trainer
Trainer
Posts: 99
Joined: Sun Apr 19, 2009 9:03 pm

Re: OSPF Setup

Sat Sep 05, 2009 11:54 am

uumar, where are you from? do tou have a ìmage of the network? i think that if you have a star-àtype network, static routing work fine for you!
 
User avatar
uumar
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2009 11:11 pm

Re: OSPF Setup

Sun Sep 06, 2009 2:30 pm

hi MichelePietravalle

here is the image of my network. from the diagramme, all client pc gets ip address direct from the edge router (rb1000). all other routers are bridge to the edge router. i need to change this structure to a routed network.

thanks
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
 
User avatar
omega-00
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1167
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 4:54 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: OSPF Setup

Sun Sep 06, 2009 5:34 pm

assuming you have IP's on all the edge RB433's you could start by just removing the ethernet interface from the bridge and assigning a static IP and dhcp server for the end user.

Then either a) nat traffic out from the RB433 as coming from its wireless ip
or
b) start setting up your routing as you've asked.

simplest way to setup OSPF routing (if you've never done it before) is to open winbox and under routing -> ospf
change to the network tab and then add the 2 networks that are attached to the local router as 'backbone'

that's a really quick and dirty setup, which will dynamically create the actual interfaces with default values etc.
 
User avatar
uumar
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2009 11:11 pm

Re: OSPF Setup

Sun Sep 06, 2009 9:24 pm

omega-00

thanks for your post. i actually tried the ospf but did not work. what do you mean by adding the two networks?

maybe i was not doing it right. this is an example of what i have

on the rb 433 in removed the eth1 from the bridge and then
configure 192.168.32.10/24 on eth1
configure 10.5.50.1/24 (and dhcp server) on wlan for the clients.
how do i configure ospf for such sutep? remember that my edge router ip is 192.168.32.1.
also, will i configure ospf on the edge router too?
 
User avatar
omega-00
Forum Guru
Forum Guru
Posts: 1167
Joined: Sat Jun 06, 2009 4:54 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: OSPF Setup

Mon Sep 07, 2009 1:50 am

on the rb 433 in removed the eth1 from the bridge and then
configure 192.168.32.10/24 on eth1
configure 10.5.50.1/24 (and dhcp server) on wlan for the clients.
how do i configure ospf for such sutep? remember that my edge router ip is 192.168.32.1.
also, will i configure ospf on the edge router too?
So wait, you're using wireless to the edge clients as well as wireless back to the base station and then to the RB1000?

So: assuming each RB433 you're using has 2 wireless cards?
If this is the case you want to remote the 1 wireless card that is serving the local clients, from the bridge.
Then give it the ip address and dhcp server you want it to have.

Then go into routing -> ospf -> networks and add 10.5.50.0/24 (your local network) then X.X.X.X/24 (your backhaul network)
you then need to do the same on the wireless AP this device is connecting back to, so it can receive the routing updates and "learn" what routes the client AP has.

I would highly recommend that if you have 2 spare access points you test this first so you understand how it works before trying to roll it out remotely.
 
User avatar
uumar
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2009 11:11 pm

Re: OSPF Setup

Mon Sep 07, 2009 1:25 pm

im using a rb433 point-to-point from one base station to another, then another rb433 as AP for the edge client. i want the point-to-point to remain bridged. i want the APs to be routed.

Also, do i have to be adding ospf network on the edge router for all the APs? i have 10 different Aps.
 
User avatar
uumar
Member Candidate
Member Candidate
Topic Author
Posts: 100
Joined: Sat Jun 27, 2009 11:11 pm

Re: OSPF Setup

Wed Sep 09, 2009 1:28 pm

omega-00

i did not hear from you again. i really need to do this setup as my network is presently bugged. i have almost 1000 pcs connected to the network and all are bridged, u know?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests